advertisement
Astronomy News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 7:20am EST

More Astronomy News
December 12, 2018

Dec. 3, 2018 — The LIGO and Virgo collaborations have now confidently detected gravitational waves from a total of 10 stellar-mass binary black hole mergers and one merger of neutron stars, which are the dense, ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — Astronomers using a combination of ground and space based telescopes have reported more than 100 extrasolar planets (exoplanets) in only three months. These planets are quite diverse and expected to ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — With InSight safely on the surface of Mars, the mission team at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California, is busy learning more about the spacecraft's landing site. They ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — Based on computer simulations and new observations from the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA), researchers have found that the rings of gas surrounding active supermassive black ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — A supernova discovered by an international group of astronomers provides an unprecedented look at the first moments of a violent stellar explosion. The light from the explosion's first hours ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — From their laboratories on a rocky planet dwarfed by the vastness of space, scientists have collaborated to measure all of the starlight ever produced throughout the history of the observable ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Astronomers using Hubble found a whopping 22,426 globular star clusters in a nearby neighborhood of ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Astronomers have concluded that gas clouds rapidly moving around a central black hole form the very heart of the 3C 327 quasar, confirming earlier ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Scientists have discovered a new method to explain how radiation belts are formed around the planet ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — NASA's MarCO mission was built to see whether two experimental, briefcase-sized spacecraft could survive the trip to deep space, and the two CubeSats proved more than able. After cruising along ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — NASA's InSight has sent signals to Earth indicating that its solar panels are open and collecting sunlight on the Martian ... read more

Nov. 26, 2018 — Mars has just received its newest robotic resident. NASA's Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport (InSight) lander successfully touched down on the Red ... read more

Nov. 26, 2018 — NASA's Mars Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport (InSight) spacecraft is on track for a soft touchdown on the surface of the Red Planet on Nov. 26. ... read more

Nov. 21, 2018 — New research from astronomers gives updated climate models for the seven planets around the star TRAPPIST-1. The work also could help astronomers more effectively study planets around stars unlike ... read more

Nov. 20, 2018 — New observations of a young gas giant demonstrate the power of a ground-based method for searching for signatures of ... read more

Nov. 20, 2018 — An international team of scientists has discovered a new, massive star system -- one that also challenges existing theories of how large stars eventually die. ... read more

Astronomers Discover Giant Relic of Disrupted 'Tadpole' Galaxy

Nov. 19, 2018 — Astronomers have identified a disrupted galaxy resembling a giant tadpole, complete with an elliptical head and a long, straight tail, about 300 million light years away from Earth. The discovery ... read more

Odd Bodies, Rapid Spins Keep Cosmic Rings Close

Nov. 19, 2018 — Forget those shepherding moons. Gravity and the odd shapes of asteroid Chariklo and dwarf planet Haumea -- small objects deep in our solar system -- can be credited for forming and maintaining their ... read more

Virtual Reality Simulation of a Supermassive Black Hole

Nov. 19, 2018 — The black hole at the center of our galaxy, Sagittarius A*, has been visualized in virtual reality for the first ... read more

Nov. 16, 2018 — Today, most of the water on Mars is locked away in frozen ice caps. But billions of years ago it flowed freely across the surface, forming rushing rivers that emptied into craters, forming lakes and ... read more

Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com