advertisement
Astronomy News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:50am EST

More Astronomy News
February 20, 2019

Feb. 19, 2019 — Scientists have discovered tadpole-shaped jets coming out of the Sun that may help explain why the corona (the wispy upper atmosphere of our star) is so inexplicably ... read more

Weak Spots for Mission to Mars Revealed

Feb. 17, 2019 — Researchers are developing a predictive model to help NASA anticipate conflicts and communication breakdowns among crew members and head off problems that could make or break the Mission to ... read more

The Vibrating Universe: Making Astronomy Accessible to the Deaf

Feb. 5, 2019 — Astronomers designed an astronomy workshop for students with hearing loss that can be easily used in classrooms, museums, fairs, and other public events. The workshop utilized a sound stage that ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — The latest data release from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) includes observations revealing the internal structure and composition of nearly 5,000 nearby galaxies observed during the first three ... read more

Jan. 28, 2019 — On Jan. 4, 2019, at 4:37 a.m. EST the CAPER-2 mission launched from Norway. The rocket flew through active aurora borealis, or northern lights, to study the waves that accelerate electrons into our ... read more

Jan. 28, 2019 — For the first time ever, astronomers have detected a 1.3 km radius body at the edge of the Solar System. Kilometer sized bodies like the one discovered have been predicted to exist for more than 70 ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — Data recorded by NASA's Chandra X-ray Observatory of a neutron star as it passed through a dense patch of stellar wind emanating from its massive companion star provide valuable insight about ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — New simulations have combined decades-old theories to provide new insight about the driving mechanisms in plasma jets that allows them to steal energy from black holes' powerful gravitational ... read more

Brain Condition Related to Long-Term Spaceflights Needs More Attention, Data

Jan. 24, 2019 — More people are poised to explore space than ever before; those who do will experience the effects of microgravity on the human ... read more

Environmental Protection in Outer Space?

Jan. 24, 2019 — Should regulations for environmental protection be valid beyond our solar system? Currently, extra-terrestrial forms of life are only deemed worth protecting if they can be scientifically ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — It has taken researchers almost three years to produce the deepest image of the Universe ever taken from space, by recovering a large quantity of 'lost' light around the largest galaxies in ... read more

Prolonged Spaceflight Could Weaken Astronauts' Immune Systems

Jan. 23, 2019 — Researchers report impaired NK-cell function during long-duration space ... read more

Jan. 23, 2019 — Juna Kollmeier and Sean Raymond kicked off an internet firestorm late last year when they posted a draft of their article about submoons on a preprint server. The online conversation obsessed over ... read more

Jan. 23, 2019 — Most of Earth's life-essential elements probably arrived with the planetary collision that produced the moon. Petrologists now conclude Earth most likely received the bulk of its carbon, ... read more

Jan. 23, 2019 — The light released from around the first massive black holes in the universe is so intense that it is able to reach telescopes across the entire expanse of the universe. Incredibly, the light from ... read more

Shedding Light on Saturn's Moon Titan's Mysterious Atmosphere

Jan. 23, 2019 — A new study tackles one of the greatest mysteries about Titan, one of Saturn's moons: the origin of its thick, nitrogen-rich atmosphere. The study posits that one key to Titan's mysterious ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — How fast the universe is expanding has been puzzling astronomers for almost a century. Different studies keep coming up with different answers -- which has some researchers wondering if they've ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — After slowly forming stars for the first few billion years of their lives, the Magellanic Clouds, near neighbors of our own Milky Way galaxy, have upped their game and are now forming new stars at a ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — A new method to measure the temperature of atoms during the explosive death of a star will help scientists understand the shock wave that occurs as a result of this supernova ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — The faint, ephemeral glow emanating from the planetary nebula ESO 577-24 persists for only a short time -- around 10,000 years, a blink of an eye in astronomical terms. ESO's Very Large ... read more

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Monday, December 31, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com