advertisement
Virology News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:24am EST

More Virology News
December 12, 2018

Dec. 11, 2018 — Human norovirus is a major cause of infections that can be particularly dangerous to children and elderly people. Here, a research team found that human induced pluripotent stem cell-derived ... read more

Interventions in Dog Populations Could Reduce Rabies in Rural China

Dec. 6, 2018 — Domestic dogs play a key role in the transmission and expansion of rabies in rural areas of China, according to a new ... read more

How Viruses Hijack Part of Your Immune System and Use It Against You

Nov. 29, 2018 — An enzyme intended to prevent autoimmune disease can be hijacked and used by some viruses to avoid immune detection. There's also good news. The same team also defined how much viral genetic ... read more

Six Antibodies Produced to Combat Zika Virus

Nov. 29, 2018 — Researchers have generated six Zika virus antibodies that could be used to test for and possibly treat a mosquito-borne disease that has infected more than 1.5 million people ... read more

HIV in Liver Cells Found to Be Inactive, Narrowing Potential Treatment Targets

Nov. 29, 2018 — In a proof-of-principle study, researchers revealed that certain immune system cells found in the human liver, called liver macrophages, contain only inert HIV and aren't likely to reproduce ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Researchers have discovered that certain derivatives of amodiaquine, a medication typically used to treat malaria, could provide a new therapeutic approach to treating patients infected with Ebola ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Researchers have developed a systematic way to compare the immune responses of humanized mice versus humans. They used this new testing platform to show that a newly developed humanized mouse shares ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Every summer in Southern Germany, Austria and Switzerland, tons of brown trout perish. An interdisciplinary team has now discovered the culprit of the mysterious dying afflicting brown trout. It is ... read more

Sugars and Microbiome in Mother's Milk Influence Neonatal Rotavirus Infection

Nov. 27, 2018 — Researchers reveal that complex interactions between sugars and the microbiome in human milk influence neonatal rotavirus infection and identifies maternal components that could improve the ... read more

Vaccine Breakthrough Brings Researchers Closer to Eliminating Polio Worldwide

Nov. 27, 2018 — Injectable vaccine, freeze-dried into a powder, kept at room temperature for four weeks and then rehydrated, offered full protection against the polio virus when tested in ... read more

How Ancient Viruses Got Cannabis High

Nov. 26, 2018 — THC and CBD, bioactive substances produced by cannabis and sought by medical patients and recreational users, sprung to life thanks to ancient colonization of the plant's genome by viruses, ... read more

How Hantaviruses Infect Lung Cells

Nov. 23, 2018 — Hantaviruses cause severe and sometimes fatal respiratory infections, but how they infect lung cells has been a mystery. Researchers report that hantaviruses gain entry to lung cells by ... read more

Nov. 20, 2018 — Frogs from groups exposed to a deadly virus are breeding at younger ages, new research ... read more

Nov. 20, 2018 — Infectious diseases can substantially reduce the size of wildlife populations, thereby affecting both the dynamics of ecosystems and biodiversity. Predicting the long-term consequences of epidemics ... read more

Discovery Could Neutralize West Nile Virus

Nov. 20, 2018 — Researchers have isolated a human monoclonal antibody that can 'neutralize' the West Nile virus and potentially prevent a leading cause of viral encephalitis (brain inflammation) in the ... read more

New Model Predicts Which Animal Viruses May Spread Among Humans

Nov. 20, 2018 — Researchers have developed a model that predicts which of the viruses that can jump from animals to people can also be transmitted from person to person -- and are therefore possible sources of human ... read more

Nov. 19, 2018 — Only a fraction of the microbes residing in, on and around soils have been identified through efforts to understand their contributions to global nutrient cycles. Soils are also home to countless ... read more

New Dual-Action Cancer-Killing Virus

Nov. 19, 2018 — Scientists have equipped a virus that kills carcinoma cells with a protein so it can also target and kill adjacent cells that are tricked into shielding the cancer from the immune system. It is the ... read more

Nov. 16, 2018 — As part of the cellular conservation of endangered species, our group initiated a primary cell culture project aimed at preserving endangered avian species in Japan, such as the Okinawa rail. ... read more

Norovirus Outbreaks: New Study May Help Efforts to Develop a Vaccine

Nov. 15, 2018 — Outbreaks of norovirus in health care settings and outbreaks caused by a particular genotype of the virus are more likely to make people seriously ill, according to a new ... read more

Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com