advertisement
New Species News
February 15, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 3:54pm EST

More New Species News
February 15, 2019

Feb. 11, 2019 — A new species of the Brazil-endemic small genus Mcvaughia described as part of a extended revision of this unique group. Mcvaughia is a genus of the plant family Malpighiaceae comprising just three ... read more

DNA Traces on Wild Flowers Reveal Insect Visitors

Feb. 8, 2019 — Researchers have discovered that insects leave tiny DNA traces on the flowers they visit. This newly developed eDNA method holds a vast potential for documenting unknown insect-plant interactions, ... read more

Seafood Mislabelling Persistent Throughout Supply Chain, Study Finds

Feb. 7, 2019 — Researchers examined 203 samples from 12 key targeted species collected from various importers, processing plants and retailers in Ontario. Of the samples, 141 were from retailers, 51 from importers ... read more

Bee Dispersal Ability May Influence Conservation Measures

Feb. 7, 2019 — The abilities of various bee species to disperse influences the pattern of their population's genetic structure, which, in turn, can constrain how they respond to environmental change, ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — Male butterflies have genes which give them a sexual preference for a partner with a similar appearance to themselves, according to new research. Researchers observed the courtship rituals and ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Scientists just discovered six new species of bristlenose catfish in the Amazon. In an evolutionary move that takes 'catfishing' to a whole new, kind of sweet level, the males have ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — New research reveals that biodiversity 'hotspots' in the tropics produced new species at faster rates over the last 25 million years, but those in temperate regions are instead full of ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Background noise is usually regarded as a nuisance that masks important sounds. But noise can convey information about important environmental conditions and allow animals to make informed decisions. ... read more

Humans' Meat Consumption Pushing Earth's Biggest Fauna Toward Extinction

Feb. 6, 2019 — At least 200 species of large animals are decreasing in number and more than 150 are under threat of extinction, according to new research that suggests humans' meat consumption habits are ... read more

Differences in Water Temperature Can Create New Marine Species

Feb. 5, 2019 — Warm and cool water temperatures over a long stretch of coastline cause new species of marine fish to evolve without being isolated from similar types of fish nearby, according to a new international ... read more

New Islands, Happy Feet: Study Reveals Island Formation a Key Driver of Penguin Speciation

Feb. 5, 2019 — Ever since Darwin first set foot on the Galapagos, evolutionary biologists have long known that the geographic isolation of archipelagos has helped spur the formation of new species. Now, an ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — The discovery of a new to science species of rare and primitive arthropod in a cave that was covered by a thick ice sheet until recently is certain to raise questions. Researchers describe a new ... read more

Deaf Moth Evolves Sound-Production as a Warning to Outwit Its Predator

Feb. 5, 2019 — A genus of deaf moth has evolved to develop an extraordinary sound-producing structure in its wings to evade its primary predator the ... read more

More Than 100 New Gut Bacteria Discovered in Human Microbiome

Feb. 4, 2019 — Scientists working on the gut microbiome have discovered and isolated more than 100 completely new species of bacteria from healthy people's intestines. The study has created the most ... read more

Scientists Strategize for Better Conservation Plans

Feb. 2, 2019 — Endangered and invasive species may be better managed in the future with new ... read more

Feb. 1, 2019 — For pollinating butterflies, it is more important to be close to forests than to agricultural fields, according to a study of 32,000 butterflies by researchers in Sweden. The results provide ... read more

Climate Change and Infertility -- A Ticking Time Bomb?

Jan. 31, 2019 — Rising temperatures could make some species sterile and see them succumb to the effects of climate change earlier than currently thought, scientists ... read more

Achieving a Balance: Animal Welfare and Conservation

Jan. 31, 2019 — Animal care experts and veterinarians evaluate the balance between animal welfare and conservation needs for a number of rare species of native birds being raised in San Diego Zoo Global breeding ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — No more than 10 curious non-professionals with a passion for nature is all it takes to find a new species of minute beetle in the tropical leaf litter, shows a recent expedition to the Ulu Temburong ... read more

Crossbreeding Threatens Conservation of Endangered Milky Storks

Jan. 31, 2019 — A team of researchers has discovered that the conservation of milky storks, an endangered wading bird native to Southeast Asia, is threatened due to crossbreeding with their more widespread cousins, ... read more

Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com