advertisement
Mating and Breeding News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:24am EST

More Mating and Breeding News
December 12, 2018

Nov. 28, 2018 — Indian peafowl crests resonate efficiently and specifically to the same vibration frequencies used in peacock social displays, according to a new ... read more

Among Birds-of-Paradise, Good Looks Are Not Enough to Win a Mate

Nov. 20, 2018 — Male birds-of-paradise are justly world famous for their wildly extravagant feather ornaments, complex calls, and shape-shifting dance moves -- all evolved to attract a mate. New research suggests ... read more

No Link Between 'Hypoallergenic' Dogs and Lower Risk of Childhood Asthma

Nov. 15, 2018 — Growing up with dogs is linked to a lower risk of asthma, especially if the dogs are female, a new study shows. However, the researchers found no relation between 'allergy friendly' breeds ... read more

Nov. 14, 2018 — What if we could observe genes firing off signals to cause some behaviors? We're getting closer. Researchers were able to directly match gene regulation with ritual mating behavior in fish. ... read more

Climate Change Damaging Male Fertility

Nov. 13, 2018 — Climate change could pose a threat to male fertility -- according to new research. New findings reveal that heatwaves damage sperm in insects - with negative impacts for fertility across generations. ... read more

Environmentally-Inspired 'Niche' Features Impact Species Evolution

Nov. 10, 2018 — Researchers have shown that the environment-driven evolution of a unique ovipositor in the female fruit fly Drosophila suzukii may have caused coevolution of the male genitalia; new features were ... read more

Goldilocks and the Optimal Mating Distance: Neither Too Small nor Too Large but Just Right

Nov. 7, 2018 — Evolutionary theory predicts that the fitness of an individual is maximized when the genetic differences between its parents are neither too small nor too large but some ideal amount known as the ... read more

Nov. 1, 2018 — Almost half of our DNA is made up of jumping genes, moving around the genome in developing sperm and egg cells. They trigger DNA damage, mutations, sterility or death. Organisms have survived these ... read more

Nov. 1, 2018 — Before the damming of the Yangtze River in 1981, Chinese sturgeon swam freely each summer one after another into the river's mouth, continuing upriver while fasting all along the way. They bred ... read more

Nov. 1, 2018 — Researchers compared wild bee communities in the tropical dry forest of Mexico living in three habitat conditions: preserved vegetation, agricultural sites and urbanized ... read more

Oct. 31, 2018 — Edible dormice are extremely long-lived thanks to their seasonal dormancy with hibernation periods lasting between at six and eleven months. Researchers hypothesized that older animals should shorten ... read more

Oct. 30, 2018 — When the male bearded manakin snaps its wings at lightning speed, it's more than part of an elaborate, acrobatic mating ritual. The tiny muscle doing the heavy lifting is also the reason this ... read more

Studies Raise Questions Over How Epigenetic Information Is Inherited

Oct. 29, 2018 — Evidence has been building in recent years that our diet, our habits or traumatic experiences can have consequences for the health of our children -- and even our grandchildren. The explanation that ... read more

Baby's Tears and Mom's Libido

Oct. 26, 2018 — A substance in young mice's tears makes female mice more likely to reject male sexual advances. This research is part of ongoing efforts to understand how animals communicate using chemicals ... read more

Differences Between Male and Female Fat Tissue, and Health

Oct. 23, 2018 — In a new study, researchers found that the abdominal fat on female mice had more blood vessels than the fat on male mice, and that this protected the health of the female mice as they gained fat from ... read more

Invasive Species in an Ecosystem Harm Native Organisms but Aid Other Invasive Species

Oct. 23, 2018 — The presence of an invasive species in an ecosystem makes native organisms more susceptible to pollutants and may encourage the spread of additional invasive species, according to new ... read more

Oct. 23, 2018 — Although bonobos and chimpanzees are similar in size, bonobo calls sound an octave higher than chimpanzee calls. Researchers explain this discrepancy with the fact that the vocal folds of bonobos are ... read more

Oct. 19, 2018 — Researchers experienced human raters with digital images of rhesus macaques of different ages and asked them to identify related individuals. They found that although infant rhesus macaque faces are ... read more

Oct. 18, 2018 — A new study found that the social lives of sweat bees -- named for their attraction to perspiration -- are linked to patterns of activity in specific genes, including ones linked to ... read more

Oct. 18, 2018 — Researchers examined the behavior of female chimpanzees in the Budongo Forest, Uganda, where chimpanzees (at least in the study community) are particularly prone to committing and suffering ... read more

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Saturday, November 10, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Saturday, August 25, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com