advertisement
Marine Biology News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:24am EST

More Marine Biology News
December 12, 2018

How Mussels Handle Microplastic Fiber Pollution

Dec. 4, 2018 — New research shows that mussels readily take in microplastic pollution fibers from the ocean but quickly flush most of them out again, according to a new ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — Sambaqui societies had sophisticated diet. Study suggests that hunter-gatherer communities living in coastal Atlantic Forest areas between 8,000 and 1,000 years ago consumed a range of plants and ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — Understanding how the ocean works is like putting together a million-piece puzzle. There are many questions; finding answers takes time, resources, and opportunity. But even when scientists believe ... read more

First Jellyfish Genome Reveals Ancient Beginnings of Complex Body Plan

Dec. 3, 2018 — The first in-depth look at the genome of a jellyfish -- the moon jelly Aurelia aurita -- shows that early jellyfish recycled existing genes to gain the ability to morph from polyp to ... read more

The Secret Contamination of Polar Bears

Dec. 3, 2018 — Using a new approach to measure chemical contaminants in polar bears, scientists found a large variety of new chlorinated and fluorinated substances, including many new polychlorinated biphenyl ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — A ground-breaking study has shown it takes a matter of hours for billions of minute plastic nanoparticles to become embedded throughout the major organs of a marine ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — Scientists studying gribble -- a curious wood-eating crustacean -- have discovered how they are able to digest wood despite being the only known animal to have a sterile digestive system. The ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — A new study helping to improve how sustainability is measured for popular reef fish could help better assess the eco-friendly seafood options at the dinner ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — If discovered as fossils, grey and ringed seals are so different that they could be classified as belonging to different families. Yet, a seal pup born in 1929 was found to be an almost perfect ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — Researchers took a virtual reality experience into a variety of educational settings, including high school classrooms, to test the impact on awareness and understanding of ocean ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — If you ever find yourself staring down a manta ray, you'll probably notice two things right away: its massive fins and the two fleshy growths curling out of its head that give it the nickname ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Rivaling the evolution of feathers in dinosaurs, one of the most extraordinary transformations in the history of life was the evolution of baleen -- rows of flexible hair-like plates that blue ... read more

Thriving Reef Fisheries Continue to Provide Food Despite Coral Bleaching

Nov. 29, 2018 — The unexpected results of a 20-year study into reef fisheries showed fisheries being maintained despite extreme coral bleaching. Remarkably, rapid proliferation of fishes with low dependence on ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Razorbill tag data revealed that, at night, these seabirds spent a lot of their time idle on the sea surface. 'We saw this as an opportunity to (...) test if the birds might be drifting with the ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Blue whales have been dropping pitch incrementally over several decades, but the cause has remained a mystery. A new study finds a seasonal variation in the whales' pitch correlated with ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — The fish killer and the fish live in harmony: But how the clownfish thrive in the poisonous tentacles of the anemone remains a mystery. A new study tackles the iconic conundrum from the microbial ... read more

Cod: Loss of Breeding Grounds in Warmer World

Nov. 28, 2018 — The chances of survival for the offspring of important fish species will dramatically worsen, if the 1.5 ° C target of the Paris Climate Agreement is not ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Scientists have succeeded in developing a new indicator (proxy) of ancient CO2 levels, using the organic molecule phytane, a debris product of chlorophyll. This new organic proxy not only provides ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Every summer in Southern Germany, Austria and Switzerland, tons of brown trout perish. An interdisciplinary team has now discovered the culprit of the mysterious dying afflicting brown trout. It is ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — The nutritional qualities of shellfish could be significantly reduced by future ocean acidification and warming, a new study ... read more

Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com