advertisement
Fisheries News
January 16, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 2:53am EST

More Fisheries News
January 16, 2019

Fishery Length, Angler Effort: How They Relate

Dec. 12, 2018 — A new study suggests reducing the number of fishing days in a season doesn't reduce catch as much as some would ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — A new study is starting to unravel that mystery. Researchers found that the soundscape of a reef -- the combined sounds of all animals living nearby -- might play a major role in steering corals ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Seals feeding on fish does not decrease fish stocks of Baltic cod, herring and sprat the most -- climate change, nutrient load and fisheries do, shows a new ... read more

DDT in Alaska Meltwater Poses Cancer Risk for People Who Eat Lots of Fish

Dec. 7, 2018 — Children in Alaska whose diet includes a lot of fish from rivers fed by the Eastern Alaska Mountain Range may have a long-term elevated risk for cancer because of insecticides -- including DDT -- in ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — Industrial fisheries are starving seabirds like penguins and terns by competing for the same prey sources. Seabirds are now the most threatened bird ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — Scientists have solved the mystery of why some closely-related species of an iconic reef fish have vastly different colour patterns, while others look very ... read more

Human Actions Impact Wild Salmon's Ability to Evolve

Dec. 4, 2018 — Once spring-run chinook salmon disappear, they are not likely to re-emerge, indicates genetic analysis of the revered wild fish. Prompt conservation action could preserve spring-run chinook, as well ... read more

Set Your Teeth on EDGE: World's Weirdest Sharks and Rays on the Brink of Extinction

Dec. 4, 2018 — Sharks that use a whip-like tail to stun their prey, rays with saws on their faces, and river rays half the length of a bus are among the most unique species at risk of extinction, according to the ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — A new study helping to improve how sustainability is measured for popular reef fish could help better assess the eco-friendly seafood options at the dinner ... read more

New Research Questions Fish Stocking Obligations

Nov. 30, 2018 — Fish stocking as a fisheries compensation method in hydropower operations no longer meets latest legal and scientific requirements, according to a new study. The study focuses on ecological flows ... read more

Insight Into Swimming Fish Could Lead to Robotics Advances

Nov. 29, 2018 — The constant movement of fish that seems random is actually precisely deployed to provide them at any moment with the best sensory feedback they need to navigate the ... read more

Thriving Reef Fisheries Continue to Provide Food Despite Coral Bleaching

Nov. 29, 2018 — The unexpected results of a 20-year study into reef fisheries showed fisheries being maintained despite extreme coral bleaching. Remarkably, rapid proliferation of fishes with low dependence on ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — The fish killer and the fish live in harmony: But how the clownfish thrive in the poisonous tentacles of the anemone remains a mystery. A new study tackles the iconic conundrum from the microbial ... read more

Cod: Loss of Breeding Grounds in Warmer World

Nov. 28, 2018 — The chances of survival for the offspring of important fish species will dramatically worsen, if the 1.5 ° C target of the Paris Climate Agreement is not ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Every summer in Southern Germany, Austria and Switzerland, tons of brown trout perish. An interdisciplinary team has now discovered the culprit of the mysterious dying afflicting brown trout. It is ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — The nutritional qualities of shellfish could be significantly reduced by future ocean acidification and warming, a new study ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Predators have been identified as the shaping force behind mutually beneficial relationships between species such as clownfish and ... read more

Fish Can Detox Too -- But Not So Well, When It Comes to Mercury

Nov. 20, 2018 — By examining the tissues at a subcellular level, researchers discovered yelloweye rockfish were able to immobilize several potentially toxic elements within their liver tissues (cadmium, lead, and ... read more

Fish and Veggies: Water Flow for More Efficient Aquaponic Systems

Nov. 20, 2018 — In aquaponics, the hydroponic crops use the nutrients from fish waste as fertilizer while the fish benefit from the plants' nutrient uptake capability to improve water quality. The treated water ... read more

A Mexican Cavefish With a Scarred Heart

Nov. 20, 2018 — Scientists are studying a guppy-sized, blind, translucent fish that lives in the cave systems of northern Mexico to figure out why some animals can regenerate their hearts, while others just ... read more

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Sunday, November 4, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Saturday, August 18, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com