advertisement
Extreme Survival News
February 19, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:54pm EST

More Extreme Survival News
February 19, 2019

Jan. 16, 2019 — Vampire bats could hold the key to new treatments for a range of serious medical problems, but researchers have hit a snag accessing the specimens needed to advance their work. Now scientists have ... read more

Jan. 15, 2019 — Scientists have shown how the yeast Candida albicans can modulate and adapt to low oxygen levels in different body niches to cause infection and to harm the host. Studying adaption to hypoxic or ... read more

Jan. 11, 2019 — Engineers have developed a microfluidic technique that can quickly process small samples of bacteria and gauge a specific property that's highly correlated with bacteria's ability to ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Fish become anxious and more cautious when water quality is degraded by sediment, an effect that could stunt their growth and damage their ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — Microscopic marine plants flourish beneath the ice that covers the Greenland Sea, according to a new study. These phytoplankton create the energy that fuels ocean ecosystems, and the study found that ... read more

Antibiotic Resistance in the Environment Linked to Fecal Pollution

Jan. 8, 2019 — A study shows that 'crAssphage', a virus specific to bacteria in human feces, is highly correlated to the abundance of antibiotic resistance genes in environmental ... read more

Jan. 8, 2019 — A diving beetle demonstrating various adaptations to the life underground, including depigmentation and evolutionary loss of eyes, was discovered in the cave Soprador do Carvalho, Portugal. This new ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — Researchers have sequenced the genome of a little squid to identify unique evolutionary footprints in symbiotic organs, yielding clues about how organs that house bacteria are especially suited for ... read more

More Young and Other Traits Help Mammals Adapt to Urban Environments

Dec. 21, 2018 — Species of mammals that live in urban environments produce more young compared to other mammals. But next to this common 'winning trait', mammals deal with different strategies to ... read more

Wildlife Struggle to Cope With Extreme Weather

Dec. 21, 2018 — The mass death of flying foxes in extreme heat in North Queensland last month underscores the importance of wildlife research released today. The new research sheds light on how various species have ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Oceanographers have found that even slight levels of ocean oxygen loss, or deoxygenation, have big consequences for tiny marine organisms called ... read more

Biodegradable, Edible Film Kills Pathogens on Seafood

Dec. 17, 2018 — A biodegradable, edible film made with plant starch and antimicrobial compounds may control the growth of foodborne pathogens on seafood, according to ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — Why did the first big, complex organisms spring to life in deep, dark oceans where food was scarce? A new study finds great depths provided a stable, life-sustaining refuge from wild temperature ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Barely living 'zombie' bacteria and other forms of life constitute an immense amount of carbon deep within Earth's subsurface -- 245 to 385 times greater than the carbon mass of all ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Seals feeding on fish does not decrease fish stocks of Baltic cod, herring and sprat the most -- climate change, nutrient load and fisheries do, shows a new ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — Within harsh environments like hot springs, volcanic craters and deep-sea hydrothermal vents -- uninhabitable by most life forms -- microscopic organisms are thriving. How? It's all in how they ... read more

More Than 6,000 Antibiotic Resistance Genes Discovered in the Bacteria That Inhabit the Human Gut

Nov. 30, 2018 — Researchers have used an innovative approach to identify thousands of antibiotic resistance genes found in bacteria that inhabit the human ... read more

Historical Climate Important for Soil Responses to Future Climate Change

Nov. 30, 2018 — Researchers examined how 18 years of drought affect the billions of vital bacteria that are hidden in the soil beneath our feet. The results show that this type of extreme weather determines how ... read more

Scientists Direct Bacteria With Expanded Genetic Code to Evolve Extreme Heat Tolerance

Nov. 28, 2018 — Synthetic bacteria with expanded genetic codes can evolve proteins in the laboratory with enhanced properties using mechanisms that might not be possible with nature's 20 amino acid building ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — In a comprehensive study of healthy corals, scientists report that coral bacteria are a surprisingly diverse bunch -- and that different sections of the coral body can host unique communities of ... read more

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Sunday, August 19, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Friday, July 6, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Friday, June 1, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Friday, May 25, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Monday, April 23, 2018
Friday, April 20, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Friday, March 30, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com