advertisement
Extinction News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:54am EST

More Extinction News
December 12, 2018

Human Environmental Effects Favor Cosmopolitan Species Over Local Iconic Species

Dec. 4, 2018 — Human habitat modification is favoring the same species everywhere, while unique species are disappearing, finds a new ... read more

Human Actions Impact Wild Salmon's Ability to Evolve

Dec. 4, 2018 — Once spring-run chinook salmon disappear, they are not likely to re-emerge, indicates genetic analysis of the revered wild fish. Prompt conservation action could preserve spring-run chinook, as well ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — Scientists have found a chronic shortage of females in a critically endangered parrot species has led to love triangles, sneaky sex on the side, increased fighting between males and fewer ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — Fires that contribute to deforestation spiked six-fold in Colombia in the year after an historic 2016 peace agreement ended decades of conflict between FARC guerrilla and government forces, according ... read more

Set Your Teeth on EDGE: World's Weirdest Sharks and Rays on the Brink of Extinction

Dec. 4, 2018 — Sharks that use a whip-like tail to stun their prey, rays with saws on their faces, and river rays half the length of a bus are among the most unique species at risk of extinction, according to the ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — A new approach uses data analytics and machine learning to predict the conservation status of more than 150,000 plants worldwide. Results suggest that more than 15,000 species likely qualify as ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — Referred to as the world's most trafficked mammal, pangolins are not only being gradually pushed to the edge of extinction, but also made an innocent victim to huge cruelty. Having conducted a ... read more

Climate Change Risks 'Extinction Domino Effect'

Nov. 29, 2018 — New research reveals the extinction of plant or animal species from extreme environmental change increases the risk of an 'extinction domino effect' that could annihilate all life on Earth. ... read more

Thriving Reef Fisheries Continue to Provide Food Despite Coral Bleaching

Nov. 29, 2018 — The unexpected results of a 20-year study into reef fisheries showed fisheries being maintained despite extreme coral bleaching. Remarkably, rapid proliferation of fishes with low dependence on ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — In a study with implications for biodiversity and the spread of infectious diseases, ecologists have demonstrated that deforestation and habitat fragmentation can decrease transmission of a parasitic ... read more

Global Warming Increases the Risk of an Extinction Domino Effect

Nov. 28, 2018 — The complex network of interdependencies between plants and animals multiplies the species at risk of extinction due to environmental change, according to a new ... read more

New Study Explores Ecosystem Stability

Nov. 28, 2018 — A new study explores ecosystem stability. Its findings raise questions about the stability of our modern global ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Scientists have discovered genes and other genetic variations that appear to be involved in cancerous tumors shrinking in Tasmanian devils. Their research could have important implications for ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — In a comprehensive study of healthy corals, scientists report that coral bacteria are a surprisingly diverse bunch -- and that different sections of the coral body can host unique communities of ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — A new project shows that animal footprints contain enough DNA for species identification. The study extracted DNA from snow samples collected within animal tracks and applied newly developed ... read more

Nov. 26, 2018 — The insects known as Hemiptera are not a particularly glamorous bunch. This group includes stink bugs, bed bugs, litter bugs, scale insects and aphids. Their closest relatives are thrips, bark lice ... read more

Nov. 26, 2018 — An unlikely collaboration between archaeologists desperate to put names to shells at Mayan dig sites and an ichthyologist led to the first molecular study of Mexican and Central American freshwater ... read more

Drying Canadian Wetland Drives Muskrat Decline

Nov. 26, 2018 — Over the last half-century, Canada's Peace-Athabasca Delta has been slowly drying. A new study shows this loss of habitat is likely responsible for the decline of semi-aquatic muskrat, and could ... read more

Nov. 23, 2018 — New research disputes a long-held view that our earliest tool-bearing ancestors contributed to the demise of large mammals in Africa over the last several million years. Instead, the researchers ... read more

Corals and Their Microbiomes Evolved Together, New Research Shows

Nov. 23, 2018 — Corals and the microbes they host evolved together, new research shows, adding fresh insight to the fight to save the Earth's embattled coral ... read more

Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com