advertisement
Evolutionary Biology News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 7:24am EST

More Evolutionary Biology News
February 20, 2019

Bee Dispersal Ability May Influence Conservation Measures

Feb. 7, 2019 — The abilities of various bee species to disperse influences the pattern of their population's genetic structure, which, in turn, can constrain how they respond to environmental change, ... read more

Why Asian Horses Don't Get Sick With the Flu

Feb. 7, 2019 — Avian influenza viruses infect horses in Mongolia but do not cause large outbreaks of disease because they failed to acquire key genetic changes to enable greater cross-species transmissibility, ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — A new study finds that globally we're growing more of the same kinds of crops, and this presents major challenges for agricultural sustainability on a global ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — New research reveals that biodiversity 'hotspots' in the tropics produced new species at faster rates over the last 25 million years, but those in temperate regions are instead full of ... read more

Research Explains How Snakes Lost Their Limbs

Feb. 6, 2019 — The study is part of an effort to understand how changes in the genome lead to changes in ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Variations in a single gene in a tiny fish alter how they interact with their environment. The study represents a strategy for uncovering, and perhaps even predicting, the ecological implications of ... read more

A Billion Years of Coexistence Between Plants and Fungi

Feb. 6, 2019 — What can a billion years of coexistence tell us about the evolution of plants and ... read more

Rattlesnake Venom: Mild, Medium and Wicked Hot

Feb. 5, 2019 — In a surprising evolutionary twist, a new study suggests that while one rattlesnake may routinely feast on lizard meat, its seemingly identical neighbor snake might strike and strike and never kill ... read more

Differences in Water Temperature Can Create New Marine Species

Feb. 5, 2019 — Warm and cool water temperatures over a long stretch of coastline cause new species of marine fish to evolve without being isolated from similar types of fish nearby, according to a new international ... read more

New Islands, Happy Feet: Study Reveals Island Formation a Key Driver of Penguin Speciation

Feb. 5, 2019 — Ever since Darwin first set foot on the Galapagos, evolutionary biologists have long known that the geographic isolation of archipelagos has helped spur the formation of new species. Now, an ... read more

New Anti-CRISPR Proteins Discovered in Soil and Human Gut

Feb. 5, 2019 — Scientists have found four new anti-CRISPR proteins that are distributed across different environments. The new study suggests that some anti-CRISPR proteins are more widespread in nature than ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — Analysis of soil samples show antibiotic-resistant genes have transferred into soil-microbe populations in one of Earth's most remote ... read more

Diversity in the CD4 Receptor Protects Chimpanzees from Infection by AIDS-Like Viruses

Feb. 4, 2019 — Medical researchers have found that the CD4 surface protein, which is used by HIV and SIV as the receptor to enter immune cells, is highly variable among wild chimpanzees. Understanding how these ... read more

The Web Meets Genomics: A DNA Search Engine for Microbes

Feb. 4, 2019 — Microbes are the most common and diverse organisms on the planet. A new search engine, called BIGSI, allows scientists to search public microbial DNA data for specific genes and mutations. This could ... read more

Scientists Strategize for Better Conservation Plans

Feb. 2, 2019 — Endangered and invasive species may be better managed in the future with new ... read more

Optimized Binding Cavity

Feb. 1, 2019 — The impressively high conversion rates of natural enzymes partly result from increasing the catalytic activity of a selected few amino acid side chains through precise positioning within the protein ... read more

Evolution in Vertebrates

Jan. 31, 2019 — Researchers conducted a years-long study that not only confirmed the intuition that light-colored mice survive better in light-colored habitats, and vice versa for dark-colored mice, but also allowed ... read more

Climate Change and Infertility -- A Ticking Time Bomb?

Jan. 31, 2019 — Rising temperatures could make some species sterile and see them succumb to the effects of climate change earlier than currently thought, scientists ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — The first moments of life unfold with incredible precision. Now, using mathematical tools and the help of fruit flies, researchers have uncovered new findings about the mechanisms behind this ... read more

Evolutionary History of Baboons

Jan. 31, 2019 — Life on earth is complex and diverse. In the course of evolution, more and more new species have emerged that are adapted to constantly changing environments. Using modern genetic analyses, ... read more

Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com