advertisement
Endangered Plants News
December 15, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 5:54pm EST

More Endangered Plants News
December 15, 2018

Dec. 5, 2018 — Scientists have characterized multiple functions of benzoxazinoids in wheat: The toxic form of the substances makes the plant directly resistant to lepidopteran larvae, whereas a less toxic form ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — While it's an important part of our diets, new research shows that rice plants can be used in a different way, too: to clean runoff from farms before it gets into rivers, lakes, and ... read more

Human Environmental Effects Favor Cosmopolitan Species Over Local Iconic Species

Dec. 4, 2018 — Human habitat modification is favoring the same species everywhere, while unique species are disappearing, finds a new ... read more

Inactivating Genes Can Boost Crop Genetic Diversity

Dec. 4, 2018 — Researchers recently showed that inactivating a gene, RECQ4, leads to a three-fold increase in recombination in crops such as rice, pea and tomato. The discovery could speed up plant breeding and ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — A new approach uses data analytics and machine learning to predict the conservation status of more than 150,000 plants worldwide. Results suggest that more than 15,000 species likely qualify as ... read more

Dec. 3, 2018 — Knowing which way is up and which way is down is important for all living beings. For plants, which grow roots into the soil and flowers above ground, getting this polarization wrong would cause a ... read more

Climate Change Risks 'Extinction Domino Effect'

Nov. 29, 2018 — New research reveals the extinction of plant or animal species from extreme environmental change increases the risk of an 'extinction domino effect' that could annihilate all life on Earth. ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Scientists have succeeded in developing a new indicator (proxy) of ancient CO2 levels, using the organic molecule phytane, a debris product of chlorophyll. This new organic proxy not only provides ... read more

Nov. 28, 2018 — Researchers have discovered why some plants 'live fast and die young' whilst others have long and healthy ... read more

Global Warming Increases the Risk of an Extinction Domino Effect

Nov. 28, 2018 — The complex network of interdependencies between plants and animals multiplies the species at risk of extinction due to environmental change, according to a new ... read more

Waterhemp's Metabolic Resistance to Topramezone

Nov. 27, 2018 — Corn naturally tolerates certain herbicides, detoxifying the chemicals before they can cause harm. It's what allows farmers to spray fields with the class of herbicides known as HPPD-inhibitors, ... read more

Nov. 26, 2018 — Cows eat grass. It seems simple enough. But just which kind of grass cows and their vegetarian comrades munch on can influence the entire ... read more

Virtual Models Provide Real Knowledge in the Grass Family

Nov. 26, 2018 — The complex flowers of the grass family have enormous economic importance, as their pollination leads to the production of grains such as rice, wheat, and corn. Grass species are notoriously ... read more

Wild Coffee Plants, Christmas Trees and Chocolate's Tree Are Surprisingly Poorly Protected

Nov. 21, 2018 — An indicator to measure plant conservation shows a wide range of wild plants used for food, medicine, shelter, fuel, livestock forage and other valuable purposes are at risk. These include wild ... read more

Fish and Veggies: Water Flow for More Efficient Aquaponic Systems

Nov. 20, 2018 — In aquaponics, the hydroponic crops use the nutrients from fish waste as fertilizer while the fish benefit from the plants' nutrient uptake capability to improve water quality. The treated water ... read more

Selling Plants on Amazon: A Forest of Untapped Opportunity

Nov. 17, 2018 — The purpose of this study was to determine the extent to which horticultural businesses were directly selling live plant products online, either through Amazon, Ebay, or from their own ... read more

Researchers Discover Novel 'to Divide or to Differentiate' Switch in Plants

Nov. 14, 2018 — Scientists have uncovered a novel mechanism in plants that controls an important decision step in stomatal lineage to divide asymmetrically or to differentiate. This is a decisive step for the ... read more

Tropical Trees in the Andes Are Moving Up -- Toward Extinction

Nov. 14, 2018 — In the most comprehensive study of its kind, biologists have found that tropical and subtropical forests across South America's Andes Mountains are responding to warming temperatures by ... read more

Recommending Plants to Benefit and Attract Pollinators

Nov. 14, 2018 — Pollinating insects are integral to the health of all terrestrial ecosystems and agriculture worldwide. As homeowners attempt to conserve pollinators through horticulture practices, they often seek ... read more

Back-to-the-Future Plants Give Climate Change Insights

Nov. 13, 2018 — If you were to take a seed and zap it into the future to see how it will respond to climate change, how realistic might that prediction be? More so than was previously realized, according to a new ... read more

Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Saturday, November 17, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com