advertisement
Botany News
February 15, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 3:24pm EST

More Botany News
February 15, 2019

How Landscape Plants Have an Impact on the Carbon Footprint

Feb. 6, 2019 — A new study provides a base of understanding of carbon footprint terminology and illustrates carbon footprint analyses using data from previous research that modeled nursery and greenhouse crop ... read more

A Billion Years of Coexistence Between Plants and Fungi

Feb. 6, 2019 — What can a billion years of coexistence tell us about the evolution of plants and ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — Considering that light is the driving force behind the growth and productivity of reef ecosystems, scientists are interested in understanding the relationship between primary productivity and varying ... read more

Leaves Are Nature's Most Sophisticated Environment Sensors

Feb. 5, 2019 — New research confirms that leaves are nature's most sophisticated environment sensors. We can therefore use leaves to tell us about the management of the land they are growing in. The experiment ... read more

Biotechnology to the Rescue of Brussels Sprouts

Feb. 4, 2019 — An international team has identified the genes that make these plants resistant to the pathogen that attacks crops belonging to the cabbage family all over the ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — Agricultural production benefits enormously from flower-visiting bees and other insects. Hedgerows and the edges of forests represent important habitats for pollinators. Scientists have investigated ... read more

Quality of Overall Diet Is Key to Lowering Type 2 Diabetes Risk

Feb. 4, 2019 — New research shows that a high-quality diet defined by low intake of animal foods such as red meat, and high intake of plant foods such as vegetables, fruits and whole grains, and reduced intake of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2019 — Researchers have discovered a new switch that plants use to control their responses to iron ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — New research by the Threatened Species Recovery Hub has identified the top 100 Australian plant species at risk of extinction. Three quarters of Australia's threatened species are ... read more

Miscanthus With Improved Winter-Hardiness Could Benefit Northern Growers

Jan. 30, 2019 — The cold-sensitivity of Miscanthus, a perennial biomass crop, has limited its adoption in northern climes, but new research shows a way forward for would-be Miscanthus growers in cold ... read more

Cassava High in Iron and Zinc Could Improve Diets and Health in West Africa

Jan. 28, 2019 — A new study shows that field-grown cassava plants overexpressing a combination of plant genes can accumulate significantly higher concentrations of iron and ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — A new article provides genome sequencing data that triples the number of plant species with available genome data. To date, around 350 land plant genomes have been sequenced; this article provides ... read more

Noisy Gene Atlas to Help Reveal How Plants 'Hedge Their Bets' in Race for Survival

Jan. 24, 2019 — Plant scientists have built a gene expression atlas that maps the 'noisy genes' of genetically identical plants. This is helping to explain why 'twin' plants, with identical ... read more

How Bacteria Build Hyper-Efficient Photosynthesis Machines

Jan. 24, 2019 — Researchers facing a future with a larger population and more uncertain climate are looking for ways to improve crop yields, and they're looking to photosynthetic bacteria for engineering ... read more

Plants Can Smell, Now Researchers Know How

Jan. 23, 2019 — Plants don't need noses to smell. The ability is in their genes. Researchers have discovered the first steps of how information from odor molecules changes gene expression in plants. ... read more

Dual Control: Plant Peptide Hormone Generates Distinct Cell Structures for Water Flow

Jan. 23, 2019 — Researchers have found that a peptide hormone regulates two different cell division processes that generate centrally important structures for the flow of water through plants. By binding to ... read more

Bifacial Stem Cells Produce Wood and Bast

Jan. 22, 2019 — So-called bifacial stem cells are responsible for one of the most critical growth processes on Earth -- the formation of wood. By alternately developing into wood and bast cells, these stem cells are ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Plants have control mechanisms that resemble those in human senses. According to a new study, plants adjust photosynthesis to rapid light changes using a sophisticated sensing system, much in the way ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Recent research has shown that rising carbon dioxide levels will likely boost yields, but at the cost of nutrition. A new studysuggests that this is an incomplete picture of the complex environmental ... read more

Leaf Age Determines the Division of Labor in Plant Stress Responses

Jan. 21, 2019 — A new study shows that the crosstalk between plant responses to physical and biological stresses varies between young and old leaves to enable optimal plant performance when the two kinds of stress ... read more

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com