advertisement
Birds News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:53am EST

More Birds News
February 20, 2019

NW Forest Plan 25 Years Later: Wildfire Losses Up, Bird Populations Down

Feb. 4, 2019 — Twenty-five years into a 100-year federal strategy to protect older forests in the Pacific Northwest, forest losses to wildfire are up and declines in bird populations have not been reversed, new ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — A 150-year-old fossil feather mystery has been solved. Researchers applied a novel imaging technique, laser-stimulated fluorescence, revealing the missing quill of the first fossil feather ever ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — New research shows zebra finches engage in socially guided vocal learning, where they learn their songs by watching their mothers' reactions to their immature ... read more

Achieving a Balance: Animal Welfare and Conservation

Jan. 31, 2019 — Animal care experts and veterinarians evaluate the balance between animal welfare and conservation needs for a number of rare species of native birds being raised in San Diego Zoo Global breeding ... read more

Crossbreeding Threatens Conservation of Endangered Milky Storks

Jan. 31, 2019 — A team of researchers has discovered that the conservation of milky storks, an endangered wading bird native to Southeast Asia, is threatened due to crossbreeding with their more widespread cousins, ... read more

How to Send a Finch Extinct

Jan. 29, 2019 — An endangered Queensland bird is at risk of extinction because environmental legislation is failing to protect its habitat, according to a University of Queensland-led study. Researchers reviewed ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — Using data from underwater robots, scientists have discovered that beaked whales prefer to feed within parts of a Navy sonar test range off Southern California that have dense patches of deep-sea ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — In the world's temperate regions, proximity to roads usually reduces the reproductive success of birds, thanks to predators that gravitate toward habitat edges. However, the factors affecting ... read more

Molecular Analysis of Anchiornis Feather Gives Clues to Origin of Flight

Jan. 28, 2019 — Researchers have performed molecular analysis on fossil feathers from a small, feathered dinosaur from the Jurassic. Their research could aid scientists in pinpointing when feathers evolved the ... read more

Birds-of-Paradise Genomes Target Sexual Selection

Jan. 28, 2019 — Researchers provide genome sequences for 5 birds-of-paradise species: 3 without previous genome data and 2 with improved data. Birds-of-paradise are classic examples of extreme sexual selection due ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — Baby birds and eggs are on the menu for at least 94 species of animals in Australia's forests and woodlands, according to new research. Scientists reviewed 177 existing bird studies across the ... read more

More Than Ruffled Feathers: Mockingbirds Show Heightened Aggression After Lead Exposure

Jan. 23, 2019 — Mockingbirds exposed to sub-lethal levels of lead in urban areas display significantly heightened aggression, according to researchers. Their findings highlight the possibility that sub-lethal lead ... read more

Jan. 23, 2019 — Land conservation programs that have converted tens of thousands of acres of agricultural land in Illinois back to a more natural state appear to have helped some rare birds increase their ... read more

Jan. 23, 2019 — New research in how dragonflies may adapt their wing color to temperature differences might explain color variation in other animals, from lions to birds. Further, the findings could also provide ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Designating relatively small parcels of land as protected areas for wildlife with no habitat management -- which has frequently been done in urban-suburban locales around the world -- likely does not ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Researchers have carried out research in Southwest Cameroon to assess which proportion of forest would be necessary in order to provide sufficient habitat for rainforest bird ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Using a specially designed camera, researchers have succeeded for the first time in recreating how birds see colors in their surroundings. The study reveals that birds see a very different reality ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — The study is the first to track the timing of 12 geographically distinct breeding populations of tree swallows across the continent. Researchers measured how long birds spent at breeding grounds to ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — A new study has shed some new light on how the beaks of birds have adapted over ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — The two seabird species unique to Hawaii, Newell's shearwaters and Hawaiian petrels, are the focus of major conservation efforts -- at risk from habitat degradation, invasive predators, and ... read more

Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com