advertisement
Bacteria News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:54am EST

More Bacteria News
February 20, 2019

How to Block New Antibiotic Resistance Gene

Feb. 19, 2019 — A new antimicrobial-resistance gene, VCC-1, a beta-lactamase gene, has been discovered in benign close relatives of virulent Vibrio cholerae, which causes cholera. Now, a team of Canadian researchers ... read more

Cervical Microbiome May Promote High-Grade Precancerous Lesions

Feb. 19, 2019 — Infections with a Human Papillomavirus (HPV) cause 99 percent of cervical cancer cases, and the disease's first sign is often the appearance of precancerous lesions on a woman's cervix. But ... read more

Antibiotic Resistances Spread Faster Than Thought, Aquaculture Study Reveals

Feb. 19, 2019 — By studying fish raised in aquaculture, researchers have shed new light on the mechanisms by which antibiotic resistance genes are transferred between bacteria. According to their study, those ... read more

Researchers Find Trigger That Turns Strep Infections Into Flesh-Eating Disease

Feb. 18, 2019 — Scientists discovered a previously unknown trigger that turns run-of-the-mill strep infections into the flesh-eating disease childbed fever, which strikes postpartum moms and newborns, often leaving ... read more

More Scrutiny Needed for Less-Deadly Foodborne Bacteria

Feb. 13, 2019 — Employing advanced genetic-tracing techniques and sharing the data produced in real time could limit the spread of bacteria -- Bacillus cereus -- which cause foodborne illness, according to ... read more

Feb. 12, 2019 — Human beings are not the only ones who suffer from stress -- even microorganisms can be affected. Now, researchers have devised a new method to study how single biological cells react to stressful ... read more

New Tuberculosis Drug May Shorten Treatment Time for Patients

Feb. 11, 2019 — A new experimental antibiotic for tuberculosis has been shown to be more effective against TB than isoniazid, a decades-old drug which is currently one of the standard treatments. In mouse studies, ... read more

Marine Scientists Find Toxic Bacteria on Microplastics Retrieved from Tropical Waters

Feb. 11, 2019 — A team of marine scientists had uncovered toxic bacteria living on the surfaces of microplastics (which are pieces of plastic smaller than 5 millimeters in size) collected from the coastal areas of ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — A team has discovered two genes that make some strains of harmful Staphyloccocus bacteria resistant to treatment by copper, a potent and frequently used antibacterial agent. The discovery shows that ... read more

New Technique Pinpoints Milestones in the Evolution of Bacteria

Feb. 7, 2019 — Scientists have devised a reliable way to determine when certain groups of bacteria appeared in the evolutionary record. The technique could be used to identify when significant changes occurred in ... read more

How Microbes Produce Key Compound Used to Fight Cancer

Feb. 6, 2019 — Researchers have untangled how bacteria found in soil are able to manufacture streptozotocin, showing for the first time that the compound is produced through an enzymatic pathway and revealing the ... read more

Why Your Kid's Strep Throat Keeps Coming Back

Feb. 6, 2019 — Each year, some 600 million people around the world come down with strep throat. Yet, it was unclear why some kids are prone to repeated bouts of strep throat while others appear to be more or less ... read more

Antibiotic Development Increased, but Insufficient

Feb. 6, 2019 — While the pipeline of new antibiotics has improved over the past six years, momentum in the development of new infection-fighting agents remains inadequate and could take a significant downturn ... read more

A Taste for Fat May Have Made Us Human

Feb. 5, 2019 — A new article argues that early human ancestors acquired a taste for fat long before they began hunting for meat by scavenging marrow from the skeletal remains of large ... read more

New Anti-CRISPR Proteins Discovered in Soil and Human Gut

Feb. 5, 2019 — Scientists have found four new anti-CRISPR proteins that are distributed across different environments. The new study suggests that some anti-CRISPR proteins are more widespread in nature than ... read more

Better Assessing Bacteria Sensitivity to Antibiotics Could Change How Drugs Are Prescribed

Feb. 5, 2019 — We rely on antibiotics to treat bacterial infections, but the rise of antibiotic-resistant bacteria forces doctors and patients to contend with shifting treatment plans. Furthermore, current ... read more

A Reservoir of Bacteria: Sink Drains Next to Toilets in Patient Rooms May Harbor Dangerous Organisms

Feb. 5, 2019 — Sinks situated next to patient toilets in hospital rooms may be reservoirs for Klebsiella pneumoniae carbapenemase (KPC), increasing the risk of dangerous germ transmission, according to new ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — Streptomyces are soil-dwelling bacteria that produce approximately two-thirds of the antibiotics in current clinical ... read more

Novel Enzyme Discovered in Intestinal Bacteria

Feb. 5, 2019 — Researchers have discovered a key enzyme for formation of harmful hydrogen sulfide in the human gut by Bilophila ... read more

Flaxseed Fiber Ferments in Gut to Improve Health, Reduce Obesity

Feb. 5, 2019 — Research in mice suggests that fermentation of flaxseed fibers in the gut changes the microbiota to improve metabolic health and protect against diet-induced ... read more

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com