advertisement
Perception News
February 15, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 3:20pm EST

More Perception News
February 15, 2019

Unfamiliar Words, Not Blue Text, Slows Reading of Hyperlinks

Feb. 6, 2019 — Hyperlinks slow down reading speed only when the linked word is unfamiliar, an effect that is independent of link color, according to new research. The effect is likely due to the reader's ... read more

The Vibrating Universe: Making Astronomy Accessible to the Deaf

Feb. 5, 2019 — Astronomers designed an astronomy workshop for students with hearing loss that can be easily used in classrooms, museums, fairs, and other public events. The workshop utilized a sound stage that ... read more

We Need to Fine-Tune Our 'Maps' of the Visual Cortex

Jan. 30, 2019 — Monkey brain scans have revealed new information about the part of the brain that processes visual ... read more

Researchers ID, Treat Faulty Brain Circuitry Underlying Symptoms of Schizophrenia

Jan. 30, 2019 — In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers have determined the underlying anatomical cause of certain symptoms of schizophrenia, then ameliorated them with non-invasive brain stimulation. The ... read more

Newborn Babies Have Inbuilt Ability to Pick out Words

Jan. 29, 2019 — Newborn babies are born with the innate skills needed to pick out words from language, a new study ... read more

Listeners Get an Idea of the Personality of the Speaker Through His Voice

Jan. 29, 2019 — New research has shown that listeners across languages form very rapid personality impressions from the voice and this is not modulated by the language of the listener, native or ... read more

Jan. 28, 2019 — Researchers previously believed contrast sensitivity function -- the minimum level of black and white that a person needs to detect a pattern -- was mainly dictated by the optics of the eye and ... read more

In Test of Wisdom, New Research Favors Yoda Over Spock

Jan. 28, 2019 — A person's ability to reason wisely about a challenging situation may improve when they also experience diverse yet balanced emotions, say ... read more

Erasing Memories Associated With Cocaine Use Reduces Drug Seeking Behavior

Jan. 22, 2019 — Researchers identified the brain circuits that form memories associating environmental cues with cocaine use. Targeting these memories may improve the success of exposure therapy to prevent ... read more

Neurons in the Human Visual Cortex That Respond to Faces

Jan. 21, 2019 — A new study identifies the neurons in the human visual cortex that selectively respond to faces. The researchers showed that the neurons in the visual cortex (in the vicinity of the Fusiform Face ... read more

How Our Brains Distinguish Between Self-Touch and Touch by Others

Jan. 21, 2019 — Our brains seem to reduce sensory perception from an area of our skin when we touch it ourselves, according to a new study. The finding increases our understanding of how the brain distinguishes ... read more

Jan. 18, 2019 — Researchers have developed a new combination of technologies that allows them to identify the functional properties of individual synapses that link the two hemispheres and determine how they are ... read more

Scientists Search for New Methods to Cure Neurodegenerative Diseases

Jan. 17, 2019 — Most neurons in the human brain are generated from neural stem cells during embryonic development. After birth, a small reservoir of stem cells remains in the brain that keeps on producing new ... read more

New Findings on Eye-Signal Blending

Jan. 17, 2019 — Knowing precisely where the signals meet and the brain processes them is vital to treating amblyopia, or reduced vision in one eye because the brain and eye aren't working together ... read more

Fighting the Crave for Fattening Food? Just Surround Yourself in Its Scent

Jan. 16, 2019 — A new study proves one sense can compensate ... read more

Neurofeedback Helps to Control Learning Success

Jan. 16, 2019 — Those who regulate their brain rhythm themselves can release capacities to learn new ... read more

Difficulties With Audiovisual Processing Contributes to Dyslexia in Children

Jan. 15, 2019 — A neuroimaging study could help develop tests for early identification of ... read more

Diving Deeper Into Developmental Dyslexia

Jan. 14, 2019 — Men with dyslexia have altered structural connections between the thalamus and auditory cortex on the left side of the brain, new research reveals. The study extends similar observations of the ... read more

Millions on Prescription Sleeping Pills Would Sleep Through a Fire Alarm

Jan. 11, 2019 — Widely prescribed 'benzodiazepine' sleeping pills suppress the sleeping brain's ability to wake us when it senses a threat. But an alternative class of hypnotics currently under ... read more

Scientists Harness Machine Learning to Uncover New Insights Into the Human Brain

Jan. 10, 2019 — An inter-disciplinary research team has successfully employed machine learning to uncover new insights into the cellular architecture of the human brain. This approach could potentially be used to ... read more

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com