advertisement
Infant and Preschool Learning News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:19am EST

More Infant and Preschool Learning News
December 12, 2018

Sequential Imaging of Zika-Exposed Fetuses Reveals Most Have Normal Brain Development

Nov. 26, 2018 — Ultrasound (US) imaging performed during pregnancy and after childbirth revealed most Zika-related brain abnormalities experienced by infants exposed to the Zika virus during pregnancy. Some ... read more

Checking Very Preterm Babies' Head Size Can Help Identify Long-Term IQ Problems

Nov. 14, 2018 — Regular early head circumference assessments add valuable information when screening for long-term neurocognitive risk - according to new ... read more

Autism Behaviors Show Unique Brain Network Fingerprints in Infants

Nov. 13, 2018 — A new study has identified unique functional brain networks associated with characteristic behaviors of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) in 12- and 24-month old children at risk for developing ... read more

Developing Instruments to Detect Language Problems Earlier

Nov. 12, 2018 — Using the Computerized Comprehension Task, the team measured concepts by asking children to touch images on a touch-sensitive screen that represented words they were learning. The team used a measure ... read more

Women Who Give Birth to Boys Much More Likely to Have Postnatal Depression

Nov. 6, 2018 — A new study into postnatal depression (PND) found the odds of developing this condition increased by 79 percent when mothers had baby boys compared to baby girls. Overall the researchers identified ... read more

Grandparents: Raising Their Children's Children, They Get the Job Done

Nov. 2, 2018 — Millions of children are being raised solely by their grandparents, with numbers continuing to climb as the opioid crisis and other factors disrupt families. New research shows that caregivers who ... read more

Oct. 23, 2018 — A developmental psychologist has completed a study that is the first to measure how often infants spend time in different body positions over the first year of life. The study aims to understand how ... read more

For Preterm Infants, Skin-to-Skin Contact Affects Hormone Levels -- And May Promote Parental Engagement

Oct. 19, 2018 — For premature infants in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU), skin-to-skin contact with parents influences levels of hormones related to mother-infant attachment (oxytocin) and stress (cortisol) ... read more

Oct. 16, 2018 — Researchers looked at the mechanisms involved in language learning among nine-month-olds, the youngest population known to be studied in relation to on-screen ... read more

Infants Capable of Complex Babble May Grow Into Stronger Readers

Oct. 10, 2018 — Infants' early speech production may predict their later literacy, according to a new ... read more

Babies of Overweight Mothers May Risk Developing Self-Regulation Problems

Oct. 10, 2018 — A mother's weight during early pregnancy may affect how well her baby is able to self-regulate during its first months and years of life. This is according to a study of more than 3100 Finnish ... read more

Pregnant Women Recognize Baby Expressions Differently Depending on Mental Health History

Oct. 8, 2018 — A pilot study has found that pregnant women who have suffered from depression or bipolar disorder (i.e. both mania and depression) recognize babies' faces and how babies laugh or cry, ... read more

Oct. 4, 2018 — Researchers found that in teaching English learners -- students who aren't fluent in English and often come from homes where a language other than English is spoken -- the Latin roots of words ... read more

Oct. 3, 2018 — Dads whose cortisol levels were elevated while they held their newborns on the day of their birth -- either skin-to-skin or clothed -- were more likely to be involved with indirect care and play with ... read more

Breastfeeding Changes Gene Activity That May Make Babies Less Reactive to Stress

Sep. 26, 2018 — It has long been known that there are many physical and mental health benefits of breastfeeding for mothers and babies. But can these benefits be due to genetic changes induced by breastfeeding? New ... read more

Fish-Rich Diets in Pregnancy May Boost Babies' Brain Development

Sep. 20, 2018 — Women could enhance the development of their unborn child's eyesight and brain function by regularly eating fatty fish during pregnancy. This is the suggestion from a small-scale study. The ... read more

Newborn Opioid Withdrawal Requires a 'Cascade of Care,' Study Suggests

Sep. 19, 2018 — A new study reports that effective management of neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS) -- withdrawal symptoms occurring in infants exposed to opioids in utero -- requires a coordinated 'cascade of ... read more

A Little Labeling Goes a Long Way

Sep. 19, 2018 — New research reveals that infants can use even a few labeled examples to spark the acquisition of object categories. Those labeled examples lead infants to initiate the process of categorization, ... read more

Getting Help With Parenting Makes a Difference -- At Any Age

Sep. 19, 2018 — Parenting interventions for helping children with behavior problems are just as effective in school age, as in younger children, a new study ... read more

Premature Brains Develop Differently in Boys and Girls

Sep. 19, 2018 — Brains of baby boys born prematurely are affected differently and more severely than premature infant girls' ... read more

Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Saturday, May 5, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Friday, April 27, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Monday, February 26, 2018
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Monday, February 19, 2018
Saturday, February 17, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Tuesday, February 13, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com