advertisement
Hearing Impairment News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 7:19am EST

More Hearing Impairment News
February 20, 2019

The Vibrating Universe: Making Astronomy Accessible to the Deaf

Feb. 5, 2019 — Astronomers designed an astronomy workshop for students with hearing loss that can be easily used in classrooms, museums, fairs, and other public events. The workshop utilized a sound stage that ... read more

Older People Who Use Hearing Aids Still Report Hearing Challenges

Jan. 7, 2019 — A high proportion of older people with hearing aids, especially those with lower incomes, report having trouble hearing and difficulty accessing hearing care services, according to a new ... read more

One in Four Suicide Attempts Are Associated With Perceptual Difficulties

Nov. 28, 2018 — Researchers have revealed that one quarter of suicide attempts are associated with dysfunction in how the brain interprets basic perceptual information, such as what we see, hear and think. The ... read more

Music Supports the Auditory Skills of Hearing-Impaired Children

Nov. 27, 2018 — Researchers have found evidence that children with hearing impairment and cochlear implants can benefit from hobbies involving music and especially ... read more

Electrical Stimulation in the Nose Induces Sense of Smell in Human Subjects

Nov. 27, 2018 — Physicians have, for the first time, induced a sense of smell in humans by using electrodes in the nose to stimulate nerves in the olfactory bulb, a structure in the brain where smell information ... read more

Patients With Untreated Hearing Loss Incur Higher Health Care Costs Over Time

Nov. 8, 2018 — Older adults with untreated hearing loss incur substantially higher total health care costs compared to those who don't have hearing loss -- an average of 46 percent, totaling $22,434 per person ... read more

Preschool Children Show Awake Responses to Naptime Nonsense Words

Nov. 6, 2018 — Hearing has long been suspected as being 'on' all the time -- even in our sleep. Now scientists are reporting results on what is heard and not heard during sleep and what that might mean ... read more

Is There a Universal Hierarchy of Human Senses?

Nov. 5, 2018 — The accepted hierarchy of human senses -- sight, hearing, touch, taste and smell -- is not universally true across all cultures, new research ... read more

Oct. 31, 2018 — A new study has found that good performance on a piloting task was associated with lower vestibular thresholds, which represent stronger ability to sense and perceive information about motion, ... read more

Gene Makes Some Susceptible to Middle Ear Infections

Oct. 25, 2018 — Researchers have found multiple genetic variants within the FUT2 gene that makes some people especially susceptible to middle ear ... read more

Exploring Links Between Senses and Cognitive Health

Sep. 24, 2018 — Experts are examining the link between impaired vision, hearing, and ... read more

Sep. 24, 2018 — Beliefs can be hard to change, even if they are scientifically wrong. But those on the fence about an idea can be swayed after hearing facts related to the misinformation, according to a new ... read more

A Little Labeling Goes a Long Way

Sep. 19, 2018 — New research reveals that infants can use even a few labeled examples to spark the acquisition of object categories. Those labeled examples lead infants to initiate the process of categorization, ... read more

Older Adults Fitted With Cochlear Implants Exhibit Poor Brain Function

Sep. 12, 2018 — Older adults fitted with a cochlear implant to compensate for severe hearing loss have significantly poorer cognitive function than their normal-hearing counterparts. Hearing loss is a risk factor ... read more

Sep. 10, 2018 — Half of over-65s suffer from dizziness and problems with balance. But some tests to identify the causes of such problems are painful and can risk hearing damage. Now, researchers have developed a new ... read more

Diplomats' Mystery Illness Linked to Radiofrequency/microwave Radiation, Researcher Says

Aug. 29, 2018 — In a new article, a researcher makes the case that publicly reported symptoms and experiences of a 'mystery illness' afflicting American and Canadian diplomats in Cuba and China strongly ... read more

Aug. 24, 2018 — Disruptive noise is almost everywhere, from people talking in the office corridor to road construction down the street to the neighbor's lawn mower. Researchers are looking to improve this noisy ... read more

Aug. 22, 2018 — Scientists have identified the sensor protein responsible for hearing and balance. The findings put an end to a 40-year quest for the protein that converts sound and head movement into electrical ... read more

Aug. 22, 2018 — Our brains have an 'auto-correct' feature that we deploy when re-interpreting ambiguous sounds, a team of scientists has discovered. Its findings point to new ways we use information and ... read more

I Hear What You Say! Or Do I?

Aug. 21, 2018 — Children rely more on auditory information. This means they are less susceptible to illusions in which vision changes sound. Conversely, adults are more likely to be influenced by what they see, and ... read more

Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Saturday, August 4, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Thursday, March 8, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Monday, January 15, 2018
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
Monday, December 11, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Friday, December 1, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Thursday, October 26, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Thursday, October 5, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Monday, September 25, 2017
Friday, September 15, 2017
Monday, September 4, 2017
Friday, August 25, 2017
Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Monday, August 21, 2017
Thursday, August 10, 2017
Thursday, August 3, 2017
Wednesday, August 2, 2017
Thursday, July 20, 2017
Thursday, July 13, 2017
Wednesday, July 12, 2017
Monday, July 10, 2017
Thursday, July 6, 2017
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Monday, July 3, 2017
Friday, June 30, 2017
Thursday, June 29, 2017
Monday, June 26, 2017
Thursday, June 22, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com