advertisement
Child Development News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 7:20am EST

More Child Development News
February 20, 2019

Keep Calm and Don't Carry on When Parenting Teens

Feb. 19, 2019 — In a new study, psychologists find that mothers and fathers who are less capable of dampening down their anger are more likely to resort to harsh discipline aimed at their teens, and that fathers in ... read more

New Model Mimics Persistent Interneuron Loss Seen in Prematurity

Feb. 19, 2019 — Research-clinicians created a novel preclinical model that mimics the persistent interneuron loss seen in preterm human infants, identifying interneuron subtypes that could become future therapeutic ... read more

Children With Autism More Likely to Face Maltreatment, Study Finds

Feb. 15, 2019 — A recent study of 11 counties in Middle Tennessee revealed that children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) were nearly 2.5 times more likely than children without ASD to be reported to the Child ... read more

Study Affirms Self-Reported Sleep Duration as a Useful Health Measure in Children

Feb. 14, 2019 — While sleep questionnaires are commonly completed by children and their parents, there has been a lack of data comparing the validity of these self-reported sleep parameters. A new study indicates ... read more

Feb. 12, 2019 — Four- to six-year-old children who express suicidal thoughts and behaviors have a better understanding of what it means to die than the majority of their peers, reports a new ... read more

Why Children Struggle With the 'Cocktail Party Effect'

Feb. 11, 2019 — Researchers have clarified the development of the ability to attend to a speaker in a noisy environment -- a phenomenon known as the 'cocktail party effect.' Published in JNeurosci, the ... read more

Dengue Virus Infection May Cause Severe Outcomes Following Zika Virus Infection During Pregnancy

Feb. 8, 2019 — Prior Dengue virus infection may cause severe outcomes following Zika virus infection during pregnancy, a new study shows. The research points to a possible mechanism for the enhancement of Zika ... read more

Positive Thinking During Pregnancy May Help Children's Ability in Math and Science

Feb. 8, 2019 — Your attitude during pregnancy could have an effect on your child's ability in math and science, according to a new ... read more

Sitting in Front of the TV Puts Kids in the Obesity Hotseat

Feb. 8, 2019 — The simple act of switching on the TV for some downtime could be making a bigger contribution to childhood obesity than we realize, according to new ... read more

Studies Lend Support to 'Grandmother Hypothesis,' but There Are Limits

Feb. 7, 2019 — Humans are unusual in that women go through menopause and stop reproducing long before reaching the end of their life expectancy. One theory holds that this aspect of human life history may be ... read more

Parenting in the Age of Legal Pot: Household Rules, Conversations Help Guide Teen Use

Feb. 7, 2019 — The legalization of marijuana in Washington state in 2012 gave parents the opportunity for a new teachable moment. Many say that as society has become more permissive, they want information and ... read more

Sociologists Study the Impact Religion Has on Child Development

Feb. 7, 2019 — Do children raised by religious parents have better social and psychological development than those raised in non-religious homes? In a new study, researchers found that religion can be a mixed ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Deaf children face unique communication challenges, but a new study shows that the effects of hearing impairment extend far beyond language skills to basic cognitive functions, and the differences in ... read more

Effects of Teenage Motherhood May Last Multiple Generations

Feb. 6, 2019 — The grandchildren of adolescent mothers have lower school readiness scores than their peers, according to a new ... read more

Climate Change Poses Greater Risk of Mental Health Challenges for Children Born to Depressed Mothers

Feb. 6, 2019 — Climate change poses an exponentially greater risk for mental health problems in children born to mothers with prenatal depression who also experience natural disaster-related stress. That is the ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Researchers have discovered a clue in the humble zebrafish's digestive tract that, one day, could help people on the autism spectrum alleviate one of the most common yet least studied symptoms ... read more

Maternal Depression and Natural Disaster-Related Stress May Affect Infants' Temperament

Feb. 6, 2019 — A new study demonstrates that prenatal maternal depression has important consequences for infant temperament. Furthermore, the negative impact of prenatal maternal depression appeared to be magnified ... read more

'Doing Science,' Rather Than 'Being Scientists,' More Encouraging to Girls

Feb. 6, 2019 — Asking young girls to 'do science' leads them to show greater persistence in science activities than does asking them to 'be scientists,' finds a new psychology ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — Children who have more conflict in relationships with their mothers during early years of elementary school may find it more difficult to find a sense of purpose in life as they reach adulthood, ... read more

Teens Too Low on Sleep, Activity, and Too High on Screen Time

Feb. 4, 2019 — Only 1 in 20 U.S. adolescents is meeting national recommendations for sleeping, physical activity, and screen time, according to new ... read more

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com