advertisement
Addiction News
February 15, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 4:50pm EST

More Addiction News
February 15, 2019

Insurance Rules Make It Harder to Treat Opioid Use Disorder

Feb. 12, 2019 — Insurance industry cost-control measures may be worsening the nation's opioid epidemic by limiting access to a key medication that treats addiction, according to ... read more

Parenting in the Age of Legal Pot: Household Rules, Conversations Help Guide Teen Use

Feb. 7, 2019 — The legalization of marijuana in Washington state in 2012 gave parents the opportunity for a new teachable moment. Many say that as society has become more permissive, they want information and ... read more

New Study Examines the Way Estrogen Affects Methamphetamine Addiction

Feb. 6, 2019 — Researchers look at how methamphetamine affects female rats. Findings show that the drug induces different signaling changes in the brains of male rats versus their female counterparts, which may ... read more

Genetic Study of Impulsiveness Reveals Associations With Psychiatric Disorders

Feb. 4, 2019 — Impulsiveness and substance use share a genetic basis, according to genome-wide association studies. With more than 20,000 participants, the research represents the largest genetic analysis of ... read more

Heavy Drinking May Change DNA, Leading to Increased Craving for Alcohol

Jan. 29, 2019 — Binge and heavy drinking may trigger a long-lasting genetic change, resulting in an even greater craving for alcohol, according to a new ... read more

New Insights Into Why We Crave Fatty Foods When Dieting

Jan. 24, 2019 — Researchers have identified new brain circuits that may act as a brake on binge eating and junk food craving. In rats who had spent a month eating a low-fat diet, researchers successfully inhibited ... read more

Parental PTSD Affects Health Behavior and Aging Among Offspring of Holocaust Survivors

Jan. 22, 2019 — A new study on intergenerational transmission of trauma has found evidence that Holocaust survivors suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder and their adult offspring exhibit more unhealthy ... read more

Erasing Memories Associated With Cocaine Use Reduces Drug Seeking Behavior

Jan. 22, 2019 — Researchers identified the brain circuits that form memories associating environmental cues with cocaine use. Targeting these memories may improve the success of exposure therapy to prevent ... read more

Payments to Physicians May Increase Opioid Prescribing

Jan. 22, 2019 — US doctors who receive direct payments from opioid manufacturers tend to prescribe more opioids than doctors who receive no such payments, according to new ... read more

Some Pregnant Women Don't Believe Cannabis Is Harmful to Their Fetus

Jan. 21, 2019 — Up to one-third of pregnant women do not believe cannabis is harmful to their fetus, according to a new ... read more

Firsthand Accounts Indicate Fentanyl Test Strips Are Effective in Reducing Overdose Risk

Jan. 19, 2019 — Young adults who use drugs find fentanyl test strips useful, residue testing more convenient and testing at home more private, a Brown study ... read more

Physician-Targeted Marketing Is Associated With Increase in Opioid Overdose Deaths, Study Shows

Jan. 19, 2019 — New research shows that increased marketing of opioid products to physicians -- from consulting fees to free meals -- is associated with higher opioid prescribing rates and elevated overdose deaths ... read more

'Happiness' Exercises Can Boost Mood in Those Recovering from Substance Use Disorder

Jan. 18, 2019 — Brief, text-based, self-administered exercises can significantly increase in-the-moment happiness for adults recovering from substance use disorders, report ... read more

Dangerous Increases in Patients Mixing Opioids, Benzodiazepines or Z-Drugs

Jan. 17, 2019 — The number of Americans taking a dangerous combination of both opioids and benzodiazepines -- a group of drugs commonly prescribed for pain, insomnia and anxiety -- increased by 250 percent over a ... read more

Jan. 16, 2019 — A study finds a surprising response to cocaine in a novel strain of mutant mice -- they failed to show hyperactivity seen in normal mice when given cocaine and didn't run around. In other tests, ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — At a time when several states are moving to legalize recreational use of marijuana, new research shows that concerns about the drug's impact on teens may be warranted. The study shows that even ... read more

Pain and Substance Abuse Interact in a Vicious Cycle

Jan. 14, 2019 — Pain and substance use interact in a vicious cycle that can ultimately worsen and maintain both chronic pain and addiction, according to new ... read more

Disconnect Between Brain's Dopamine System and Cocaine Addiction

Jan. 10, 2019 — Researchers have revealed significant insight into cocaine addiction, a phenomenon which has grown significantly in the United States since ... read more

Risky Decisions: Excessive Social Media Use Is Comparable to Drug Addiction

Jan. 10, 2019 — Bad decision-making is a trait oftentimes associated with drug addicts and pathological gamblers, but what about people who excessively use social media? New research shows a connection between ... read more

Worrisome Statistics Around Medical Cannabis Users Operating Vehicles

Jan. 9, 2019 — More than half of people who take medical cannabis for chronic pain say they've driven under the influence of cannabis within two hours of using it, at least once in the last six months, ... read more

Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Monday, December 31, 2018
Friday, December 28, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Sunday, November 4, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com