advertisement
Addiction News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 7:50am EST

More Addiction News
December 12, 2018

Activating Parts of the Brain Could Help Alleviate Opioid-Related Social Isolation

Dec. 10, 2018 — One of the many painful and challenging aspects of the US opioid crisis is that people abusing opioids often isolate themselves from family and friends, making it difficult for loved ones to help ... read more

'Hangxiety' Higher in Shy People

Dec. 6, 2018 — Very shy people are more likely to suffer 'hangxiety' -- anxiety during a hangover -- than their extrovert friends, new research ... read more

Study Examines Effects of Different Opioids on Driving Performance

Dec. 5, 2018 — A new study finds that the influence of single analgesic doses of methadone and buprenorphine -- two different opioids -- on driving performance was mild and below the impairment threshold of a blood ... read more

A Missed Opportunity: Telemedicine Use for Treating Substance Use Disorder Remains Low, Despite Unmet Need

Dec. 4, 2018 — A new study shows low use of telehealth services for substance use disorder. More than 20 million Americans have substance use disorders related to alcohol, opioids and other drugs. Less than one in ... read more

Boys With Social Difficulties Most Susceptible to Early Substance Use

Dec. 3, 2018 — Boys who enter sixth-grade with co-occurring social skills, anxiety, learning and conduct problems are at the greatest risk of developing aggressive behavior and using tobacco, alcohol and marijuana ... read more

An Opioid Epidemic May Be Looming in Mexico -- And the US May Be Partly Responsible

Nov. 29, 2018 — Though opioid use in Mexico has been low, national and international factors are converging and a threat of increased drug and addiction rates exists. Many of these factors may have originated in the ... read more

High Costs of Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder

Nov. 28, 2018 — Fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) is a common condition with a high economic impact in both children and adults, concludes an updated ... read more

Drug Use, Religion Explain 'Reverse Gender Gap' on Marijuana

Nov. 26, 2018 — Women tend to be more conservative than men on political questions related to marijuana. A recent study finds that this gender gap appears to be driven by religion and the fact that men are more ... read more

Alcohol Ads With Pro-Drinking Comments on Facebook Boost Desire to Drink, Study Finds

Nov. 14, 2018 — Alcohol advertisements on social media sites such as Facebook can increase young adults' desire to drink if the ads contain pro-drinking comments from users, according to new ... read more

How Exercise Could Help Fight Drug Addiction

Nov. 14, 2018 — The siren call of addictive drugs can be hard to resist, and returning to the environment where drugs were previously taken can make resistance that much harder. However, addicts who exercise appear ... read more

Moving the Motivation Meter

Nov. 8, 2018 — Rats given the drug that reduced dopamine were much less likely to work for preferred morsels of food. But when these rats were then given one of the experimental drugs, they regained their ... read more

Rat Models of Opioid Use and Addiction Explore Risk of Abuse

Nov. 6, 2018 — New research revealed today highlights the power of animal studies to explore mechanisms of opioid addiction, withdrawal, and relapse to inform new prevention strategies and treatments for ... read more

Adolescent Cannabis Use Alters Development of Planning, Self-Control Brain Areas

Nov. 6, 2018 — Adolescent marijuana use may alter how neurons function in brain areas engaged in decision-making, planning and self-control, according to ... read more

New Insights Into the Neural Risks and Benefits of Marijuana Use

Nov. 6, 2018 — Research released today underscores both the dangers and the therapeutic promise of marijuana, revealing different effects across the lifespan. Marijuana exposure in the womb or during adolescence ... read more

Nov. 6, 2018 — Each state takes a different approach on how it tries to stem the impact of opioid abuse, resulting in significant variation between opioid prescription rates and the number of children placed into ... read more

Adolescent Brain Development Impacts Mental Health, Substance Use

Nov. 5, 2018 — Advances in understanding adolescent brain development may aid future treatments of mental illness and alcohol and substance use disorders, according to new ... read more

How Childhood Stress Contributes to Anxiety, Depression

Nov. 5, 2018 — New research could help explain why stress early in life can create vulnerabilities to mood and anxiety disorders later ... read more

Opioid Use May Increase Risk of Dangerous Heart Rhythm Disorder

Nov. 5, 2018 — Opioid use appears to increase a person's risk for developing atrial fibrillation, a dangerous heart-rhythm disorder known to cause strokes, according to preliminary ... read more

Cognitive Changes in Offspring of Heavy Cannabis-Using Rats

Nov. 4, 2018 — Researchers have seen cognitive changes in the offspring of rats exposed to heavy amounts of cannabis. Their work is one of the rare studies to look at the effects of cannabis during pregnancy. The ... read more

New Studies on Student Alcohol Use Can Inform Interventions to Reduce Blackouts

Nov. 2, 2018 — While most college students who drink alcohol don't intend to drink to the point of blackout, many don't fully understand the specific behaviors and risk factors associated with ... read more

Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Sunday, November 4, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Saturday, August 25, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Friday, August 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Saturday, August 11, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Saturday, August 4, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com