advertisement
Engineering News
February 15, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 3:52pm EST

More Engineering News
February 15, 2019

Scientists Use Smartphones to Improve Dismal Rating of Nation's Civil Infrastructure

Feb. 11, 2019 — Scientists at the have developed smartphone-based technologies that can monitor civil infrastructure systems such as crumbing roads and aging ... read more

New Model Predicts How Ground Shipping Will Affect Future Human Health, Environment

Feb. 11, 2019 — The trucks and trains that transport goods across the United States emit gases and particles that threaten human health and the environment. A new project developed a new model that predicts through ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — In a finding that will be useful in nanoscale engineering, researchers have shown that miniscule differences in the roughness of surfaces can have important effects on how they stick ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — Scientists have developed an effective and energy-efficient technique for purifying water by using graphitic carbon nitride sheets. Their prototype purified pathogen-rich water in 30 minutes, killing ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — Instead of throwing away your broken boots or cracked toys, why not let them fix themselves? Researchers have developed 3D-printed rubber materials that can do just ... read more

Researchers Use Artificial Neural Networks to Streamline Materials Testing

Feb. 5, 2019 — Investigators have paired artificial neural networks (ANN) with dynamic mechanical analysis to quickly formulate and provide analytics on theoretical graphene-enhanced advanced ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — Ceramics with networked nanosheets of graphene and white graphene would have the unique ability to alter their electrical properties when strained. The surprising ability could lead to new types of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2019 — Spectrally pure lasers lie at the heart of precision high-end scientific and commercial applications, thanks to their ability to produce near-perfect single-color light. A laser's capacity to do ... read more

Layered 2D Materials: Maximizing the Potential of MXenes

Jan. 31, 2019 — New research shows how to customize the properties of materials called MXenes, which have displayed exceptional abilities to conduct electricity and block electromagnetic ... read more

Jan. 30, 2019 — Engineers have created a robot that learns what it is, with zero prior knowledge of physics, geometry, or motor dynamics. Initially the robot has no clue what its shape is. After a brief period of ... read more

Measuring Stress Around Cells

Jan. 30, 2019 — Tissues and organs in the human body are shaped through forces generated by cells, that push and pull, to 'sculpt' biological structures. Thanks to a new tool, scientists will now be able ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — For the first time, a team of researchers has demonstrated that laser-generated crystals confined in glass retain controllable ferroelectric properties, key to creating faster, more efficient optical ... read more

Fluid Dynamics Simulation Reveals the Underlying Physics of Liquid Jet Cleaning

Jan. 29, 2019 — In a significant advance for semiconductor manufacturing, mechanical engineers created a simulation that makes it easier to choose environmentally friendly water jet and underwater ultrasound ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — Engineers have developed a new coating strategy for metal that self-heals within seconds when scratched, scraped or cracked. The novel material could prevent these tiny defects from turning into ... read more

Groundbreaking New Reusable Adhesive Works Underwater

Jan. 28, 2019 — Researchers have introduced a new cutting-edge reusable adhesive that activates in seconds, works underwater, and is strong enough to deadlift 11 pounds: shape memory polymers ... read more

Use a Microscope as a Shovel? Researchers Dig It

Jan. 25, 2019 — Using a familiar tool in a way it was never intended to be used opens up a whole new method to explore materials, report researchers. They used the tip of an atomic force microscope as a chisel, and ... read more

Jan. 25, 2019 — Static electricity is one of the most common, yet poorly understand, forms of power generation. A new study suggests the cause of this hair-raising phenomenon is tiny structural changes that occur at ... read more

Engineers Develop Novel Strategy for Designing Tiny Semiconductor Particles for Wide-Ranging Applications

Jan. 25, 2019 — NUS Engineers have developed a cost-effective and scalable strategy for designing tiny semiconductor particles known as transition metal dichalcogenide quantum dots (TMD QDs) which can potentially ... read more

Jan. 25, 2019 — A novel model identifies instances in which autonomous systems have 'learned' from training examples that don't match what's actually happening in the real world. Engineers could ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — Researchers have made the first soft robot mimicking plant tendrils: it is able to curl and climb, using the same physical principles determining water transport in plants. In the future this ... read more

Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com