advertisement
Nervous System News
December 14, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 8:18pm EST

More Nervous System News
December 14, 2018

New Method for Studying ALS More Effectively

Dec. 12, 2018 — The neurodegenerative disease ALS causes motor neuron death and paralysis. However, long before the cells die, they lose contact with the muscles as their axons atrophy. Researchers have now devised ... read more

Dec. 11, 2018 — According to some estimates, up to one in three people around the world may experience severe anxiety in their lifetime. Researchers have now revealed a previously unknown mechanism underlying ... read more

Discovering Neurons That Rapidly Catch Our Mistakes

Dec. 5, 2018 — Scientists identify single neurons in the human brain that catch our mistakes and correct future ... read more

Dec. 4, 2018 — A new study shows neurons in mice that influence metabolism are active for up to two days after a single ... read more

A Toxin That Travels from Stomach to Brain May Trigger Parkinsonism

Dec. 4, 2018 — Combining low doses of a toxic herbicide with sugar-binding proteins called lectins may trigger Parkinsonism -- symptoms typical of Parkinson's disease like body tremors and slowing of body ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — A recent study has shown how using cultured cells from patients with psychotic disorders to investigate abnormalities in nerve connections in the brain could lead to new ... read more

How Prions Invade the Brain

Nov. 29, 2018 — The spread of prions to the brain does not occur by direct transmission across the blood-brain barrier, according to a new study. As noted by the authors, insights into how prions enter the brain ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — MRI scans show that repetitive blows to the head result in brain changes among youth football players, according to a new ... read more

Rewriting the Brain Pathway for Consciousness

Nov. 28, 2018 — Overturning decades of neuroanatomy dogma, a new study shows that the thalamus is not a critical part of the brain pathway involved in keeping humans awake and conscious. The findings could lead to ... read more

Clues to Brain Changes in Depression

Nov. 30, 2018 — In new pre-clinical research, scientists at the University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSOM), led by Scott Thompson, PhD, Professor of Physiology, have identified changes in brain activity ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — By analyzing gene expression patterns, researchers have identified previously unknown distinctions between mouse and human neurons. They have also developed a new way to track cellular changes ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — Biologists have discovered that oxidative damage by free radicals produces an unusual pileup of short snippets of RNA in some neurons. This RNA buildup may predispose cells to neurodegenerative ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — This could be a major step towards a better understanding of the functions of deeply hidden brain compartments, such as the formation of memories, as well as related dysfunctions, including ... read more

Sequential Imaging of Zika-Exposed Fetuses Reveals Most Have Normal Brain Development

Nov. 26, 2018 — Ultrasound (US) imaging performed during pregnancy and after childbirth revealed most Zika-related brain abnormalities experienced by infants exposed to the Zika virus during pregnancy. Some ... read more

How Head Injuries Lead to Serious Brain Diseases

Nov. 16, 2018 — Biologists reveal the hidden molecular basis of brain disorders and provide the first cell atlas of the hippocampus -- the part of the brain that helps regulate learning and memory -- as it is ... read more

Nov. 16, 2018 — A single season of high school football may cause microscopic changes in the structure of the brain, according to a new study. A new type of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) revealed significant ... read more

Making Moves and Memories, Are They Connected?

Nov. 15, 2018 — Researchers report the first direct evidence that the cerebellum does more than just control muscle activity. It also plays a role in cognitive ... read more

Breakthrough in Treatment of Restless Legs Syndrome

Nov. 14, 2018 — New research presents a breakthrough in the treatment of Restless Legs Syndrome ... read more

New Clues to the Origin and Progression of Multiple Sclerosis

Nov. 12, 2018 — Mapping of a certain group of cells, known as oligodendrocytes, in the central nervous system of a mouse model of multiple sclerosis (MS), shows that they might have a significant role in the ... read more

Mild Blast Forces Cause Brain Pathology and Deficits, Despite Lack of Macroscopic Damage

Nov. 9, 2018 — Using a rat model of bTBI, researchers show how even mild exposure to a single blast shock wave is able to induce small but potentially very meaningful pathogenic effects that accumulate with time. ... read more

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Sunday, October 14, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com