advertisement
Infectious Diseases News
December 15, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:15pm EST

More Infectious Diseases News
December 15, 2018

Dec. 11, 2018 — Human norovirus is a major cause of infections that can be particularly dangerous to children and elderly people. Here, a research team found that human induced pluripotent stem cell-derived ... read more

Key Cellular Mechanism That Triggers Pneumonia in Humans

Dec. 10, 2018 — Researchers have demonstrated that influenza virus impairs the immune response to pneumococcus, especially monocyte ... read more

Eliminating the Latent Reservoir of HIV

Dec. 7, 2018 — A new study suggests that a genetic switch that causes latent HIV inside cells to begin to replicate can be manipulated to completely eradicate the virus from the human body. Cells harboring latent ... read more

Infectivity of Different HIV-1 Strains May Depend on Which Cell Receptors They Target

Dec. 6, 2018 — Distinct HIV-1 strains may differ in the nature of the CCR5 molecules to which they bind, affecting which cells they can infect and their ability to enter cells, according to a new study. The ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — Using a mouse model of influenza and experiments that included parabiosis, researchers definitively showed that lung-resident memory B cells establish themselves in the lung soon after influenza ... read more

Tuberculosis Survives by Using Host System Against Itself, Study Finds

Dec. 5, 2018 — Scientists have discovered that the pathogen Mycobacterium tuberculosis (MTB) releases RNA into infected ... read more

Potential Role of Bioaerosol Sampling in Disease Surveillance

Dec. 5, 2018 — A pilot study shows that non-invasive bioaerosol sampling and molecular diagnostics can detect respiratory viruses in aerosol samples in public places such as Singapore's MRT trains. Findings ... read more

A Bacterial Protein Is Found to Promote Cancer

Dec. 4, 2018 — Researchers have discovered that DnaK, a protein of the bacterium mycoplasma, interferes with the mycoplasma-infected cell's ability to respond to and repair DNA damage, a known origin of ... read more

Global Review Finds Consumption of Children's Antibiotics Varies Widely

Dec. 4, 2018 — Researchers analyzing the sales of oral antibiotics for children in 70 high- and middle-income countries found that consumption varies widely from country to country with little correlation between ... read more

A New Approach to Studying the Flu

Dec. 3, 2018 — A clever repurposing of a biological tool gives researchers new clues as to how the flu remains so ... read more

More Than 6,000 Antibiotic Resistance Genes Discovered in the Bacteria That Inhabit the Human Gut

Nov. 30, 2018 — Researchers have used an innovative approach to identify thousands of antibiotic resistance genes found in bacteria that inhabit the human ... read more

Focus on Resistance to HIV Offers Insight Into How to Fight the Virus

Nov. 30, 2018 — Of the 40 million people around the world infected with HIV, less than one per cent have immune systems strong enough to suppress the virus for extended periods of time. These special immune systems ... read more

An Opioid Epidemic May Be Looming in Mexico -- And the US May Be Partly Responsible

Nov. 29, 2018 — Though opioid use in Mexico has been low, national and international factors are converging and a threat of increased drug and addiction rates exists. Many of these factors may have originated in the ... read more

How HIV DNA Is Blocked from Entering the Cell Nucleus

Nov. 29, 2018 — Multiple components of the nuclear pore complex and nuclear import machinery enable a protein called human myxovirus resistance 2 (MX2) to inhibit HIV-1 infection, according to a new ... read more

How Viruses Hijack Part of Your Immune System and Use It Against You

Nov. 29, 2018 — An enzyme intended to prevent autoimmune disease can be hijacked and used by some viruses to avoid immune detection. There's also good news. The same team also defined how much viral genetic ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Researchers have now developed a nanoparticle-based technology that could be used distinguish between bacterial and viral forms of pneumonia. The technology could also be used to monitor whether ... read more

Six Antibodies Produced to Combat Zika Virus

Nov. 29, 2018 — Researchers have generated six Zika virus antibodies that could be used to test for and possibly treat a mosquito-borne disease that has infected more than 1.5 million people ... read more

Ending the HIV Epidemic: Where Does Europe Stand?

Nov. 29, 2018 — From diagnosis of HIV to successful viral suppression: Researchers summarize the progress towards HIV elimination in 52 countries in Europe and Central Asia. The main issues: diagnosing those who are ... read more

HIV in Liver Cells Found to Be Inactive, Narrowing Potential Treatment Targets

Nov. 29, 2018 — In a proof-of-principle study, researchers revealed that certain immune system cells found in the human liver, called liver macrophages, contain only inert HIV and aren't likely to reproduce ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — Researchers have discovered that certain derivatives of amodiaquine, a medication typically used to treat malaria, could provide a new therapeutic approach to treating patients infected with Ebola ... read more

Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com