advertisement
Health Policy News
March 18, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 11:18am EDT

More Health Policy News
March 18, 2019

Hot or Cold, Rural Residents More Vulnerable to Extreme Temperatures

Mar. 11, 2019 — A study in China's Zheijiang Province shows that people in China's rural communities are more vulnerable to both hot and cold temperature extremes than people living in urban ... read more

How the Global Gag Rule Stifles Free Speech

Mar. 7, 2019 — A new journal article by researchers in the Global Health Justice and Governance program at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health argues that the Expanded Global Gag Rule is having ... read more

Do Rural Populations Experience Greater Worry and Fatalism About Cancer?

Mar. 7, 2019 — People living in rural areas are more likely to have ambiguous beliefs and fears about getting cancer, as well as more fatalistic viewpoints than urban dwellers, reports a research ... read more

Smokers Often Misunderstand Health Risks of Smokeless Tobacco Product, Study Finds

Mar. 4, 2019 — American smokers mistakenly think that using snus, a type of moist snuff smokeless tobacco product, is as dangerous as smoking tobacco, according to a study. The study provides new research on what ... read more

Traumatic Brain Injury and Kids: New Treatment Guidelines Issued

Mar. 1, 2019 — To help promote the highest standards of care, and improve the overall rates of survival and recovery following TBI, a panel of pediatric critical care, neurosurgery and other pediatric experts today ... read more

How to Treat Depression in Prison -- And Why It Matters

Feb. 21, 2019 — The first randomized study of its kind reveals effective treatment for prisoners suffering from mental ... read more

No Evidence Tougher Policies Deter Adolescent Cannabis Use

Feb. 19, 2019 — A new study has found no evidence that teenage cannabis use is lower in countries with tougher ... read more

More Primary Care Physicians Leads to Longer Life Spans

Feb. 18, 2019 — New research shows us just how important primary care physicians are in prolonging our lives. Every 10 additional primary care physicians per 100,000 people in the United States was associated with a ... read more

Electronic Tool Has Potential to Improve Asthma Care

Feb. 14, 2019 — A new electronic decision support tool for managing asthma has the potential to improve the quality of asthma care in primary care settings, suggests a new ... read more

Only 'Modest' Improvement in Heart Failure Survival Rates Since 2000

Feb. 13, 2019 — Survival after a diagnosis of heart failure in the United Kingdom has shown only modest improvement in the 21st century and lags behind other serious conditions, such as cancer, finds a large ... read more

UK Sales of Xanax and Other Prescription Psychiatric Drugs Increasing Via the Darknet

Feb. 13, 2019 — Sales of prescription psychiatric drugs such as Xanax and diazepam via darknet online drug markets have increased in the UK at an alarming rate, according to new ... read more

Safe Consumption Sites: Study Identifies Policy Change Strategies and Challenges

Feb. 13, 2019 — A new qualitative study identifies several key lessons from early efforts to establish sanctioned safe consumption sites in five US communities. The results offer insights on one approach some ... read more

Insurance Rules Make It Harder to Treat Opioid Use Disorder

Feb. 12, 2019 — Insurance industry cost-control measures may be worsening the nation's opioid epidemic by limiting access to a key medication that treats addiction, according to ... read more

Investing in Antibiotics Critical to Saving Lives During Pandemic Influenza Outbreaks

Feb. 12, 2019 — Researchers have developed a mathematical framework to estimate the value of investing in developing and conserving an antibiotic to mitigate the burden of bacterial infections caused by resistant ... read more

Nearly Half of Adults With Heart Disease Can't Afford Their Medical Bills

Feb. 11, 2019 — More than 45 percent of non-elderly adults with atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) report financial hardship due to the associated medical bills. Worse still, about one in five report ... read more

Do We Have an Epidemic? Enhancing Disease Surveillance Using a Health Information Exchange

Feb. 11, 2019 — While disease surveillance has shifted toward greater use of electronically transmitted information to decrease the reporting burden on physicians, the challenge of getting the right information to ... read more

Complementary Medicine Use Remains Hidden from Conventional Medicine Providers

Feb. 8, 2019 — Research reveals that 1 in 3 complementary medicine (CM) users do not disclose their CM use to their medical providers, posing significant direct and indirect risks of adverse effects and harm due to ... read more

Mental Illness Not to Blame for Gun Violence, Study Finds

Feb. 7, 2019 — Counter to a lot of public opinion, having a mental illness does not necessarily make a person more likely to commit gun violence. According to a new study, a better indicator of gun violence was ... read more

Side-Effects Not Fully Reported in More Than 30 Percent of Healthcare Reviews

Feb. 6, 2019 — The potential side-effects of health interventions were not fully reported in more than a third of published health study reviews, research has ... read more

Doctors Dramatically Reduce Racial Disparities in Early-Stage Lung Cancer Treatment

Feb. 5, 2019 — A pragmatic system-based intervention within cancer treatment centers can eliminate existing disparities in treatment and outcomes for black patients with early-stage lung cancer across the U.S. The ... read more

Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com