advertisement
Gastrointestinal Problems News
December 15, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 5:15pm EST

More Gastrointestinal Problems News
December 15, 2018

Sweet Lysine Degradation

Nov. 29, 2018 — Researchers have gained fundamental new insights into the degradation of the amino acid lysine -- carcinogenic oncometabolites as intermediate ... read more

Nov. 1, 2018 — A team of researchers have used high-powered microscopes to view serotonin activating its receptor for the first time. Images reveal molecular details about the receptor that could improve drug ... read more

Inflammation Can Lead to Circadian Sleep Disorders

Oct. 31, 2018 — Inflammation, which is the root cause of autoimmune disorders including arthritis, type 1 diabetes, irritable bowel syndrome and Crohn's disease, has unexpected effects on body clock function ... read more

Cottonseed Oil Linked to Lower Cholesterol

Oct. 31, 2018 — Researchers at the University of Georgia have found that a high-fat diet enriched with cottonseed oil drastically improved cholesterol profiles in young adult ... read more

Childhood Antibiotics and Antacids May Be Linked to Heightened Obesity Risk

Oct. 30, 2018 — Young children prescribed antibiotics and, to a lesser extent, drugs to curb excess stomach acid, may be at heightened risk of obesity, new research ... read more

Gut Microbiota Products Can Favor Diabetes

Oct. 26, 2018 — A study shows that the gut microbiota has the ability to affect how cells respond to insulin, and can thus contribute to type 2 diabetes. The findings demonstrate an hereto unknown pathological ... read more

Oct. 24, 2018 — Researchers used an MRI to show a play-by-play of how sending an electric impulse to the vagus nerve successfully corrects stomach complications. The technique paves the way for more precise ... read more

Home-Based Biofeedback Therapy Is Effective Option for Tough-to-Treat Constipation

Oct. 22, 2018 — Biofeedback therapy used at home is about 70 percent effective at helping patients learn how to coordinate and relax bowel muscles and relieve one of the most difficult-to-treat types of ... read more

Increased Mortality in Children With Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Oct. 18, 2018 — Children who develop inflammatory bowel disease (ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease) have an increased risk of death, both in childhood and later in life, a study reports. It is therefore ... read more

Did Eating Starchy Foods Give Humans an Evolutionary Advantage?

Oct. 18, 2018 — Gene AMY1, which kickstarts digestion of starch in the mouth, is associated with blood glucose levels and digestion of carbohydrates, with implications for understanding human evolutionary biology ... read more

Do Not Give Decongestants to Young Children for Common Cold Symptoms

Oct. 11, 2018 — Decongestants should not be given to children under 6 -- and given with caution in children under 12 -- as there is no evidence that they alleviate symptoms such as a blocked or runny nose, and their ... read more

Study Firms Up Diet and Depression Link

Oct. 10, 2018 — In an unusual experiment, researchers have found that among Torres Strait Islander people the amount of fish and processed food eaten is related to ... read more

Viruses in Blood Lead to Digestive Problems

Oct. 4, 2018 — Some people suffer unpredictable bouts of abdominal pain and constipation. A new study in mice shows that viruses that target the nervous system can kill neurons in the gut that coordinate the ... read more

Gastric Banding as Effective as Metformin in Slowing Prediabetes, Type Two Diabetes

Oct. 4, 2018 — People with prediabetes or new-onset type 2 diabetes who had gastric banding, a type of bariatric surgery for weight loss, had similar stabilization of their disease to those who took metformin ... read more

Newly Discovered Compounds Shed Fresh Light on Whole Grain Health Benefits

Oct. 3, 2018 — Scientists have discovered new compounds that may explain whole grain health benefits. A high intake of whole grains increased the levels of betaine compounds in the body which, in turn, was ... read more

Oct. 2, 2018 — Diet influences the composition of microbial populations in the mammary glands of nonhuman primates, researchers report. Specifically, a Mediterranean diet increased the abundance of probiotic ... read more

Immune System's Balancing Act Keeps Bowel Disease in Check

Oct. 2, 2018 — The study showed that the increased presence of a protein responsible for sensing infection -- called NLRP1 -- meant there were fewer good bacteria and anti-inflammatory molecules in the gut, leading ... read more

Animal Study Suggests Deep Space Travel May Significantly Damage GI Function in Astronauts

Oct. 2, 2018 — Deep space bombardment by galactic cosmic radiation (GCR) could significantly damage gastrointestinal (GI) tissue leading to long-term functional alterations, according to a new study, which also ... read more

Protecting Probiotics from the Stomach

Sep. 26, 2018 — The small intestine is a hotbed of microbial activity and a target of probiotic treatments for diarrhea, inflammatory bowel disease and irritable bowel syndrome, among other conditions. To make it to ... read more

Sep. 25, 2018 — Over the last few years, scientists have discovered connections between gut microbiota imbalances and various diseases. Now, in a study using mice, researchers have revealed a surprising relationship ... read more

Thursday, November 29, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Friday, June 22, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Friday, May 25, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com