advertisement
Disability News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:18am EST

More Disability News
February 20, 2019

Feb. 19, 2019 — Researchers have developed a new way to deliver treatment for cartilage ... read more

Multiple Sclerosis: Perilous Ruptures

Jan. 24, 2019 — The permanent neurological deficits of multiple sclerosis patients largely depend on the extent of degeneration of long nerve fibers. The latter is initiated by ruptures in the cell membrane and the ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Diseases such as multiple sclerosis are characterized by damage to the 'myelin sheath', a protective covering wrapped around nerve cells akin to insulation around an electrical wire. ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Experiments show a strong relationship between changes in astrocytes after mild traumatic brain injury and the eventual occurrence of a ... read more

Shedding Light on Spinal Cord Injuries

Jan. 21, 2019 — A natural immune system response may be responsible for inflicting additional harm in the weeks and months after a spinal ... read more

Specific Cognitive Deficits in Individuals With Spinal Cord Injury

Jan. 18, 2019 — A multidisciplinary team of researchers has identified specific cognitive deficits in individuals with spinal cord injury (SCI). Their findings support the theory of accelerated aging after SCI, and ... read more

Gene Therapy Promotes Nerve Regeneration

Jan. 18, 2019 — Researchers have shown that treatment using gene therapy leads to a faster recovery after nerve damage. By combining a surgical repair procedure with gene therapy, the survival of nerve cells and ... read more

Reinforcement Learning Expedites 'Tuning' of Robotic Prosthetics

Jan. 17, 2019 — Researchers have developed an intelligent system for 'tuning' powered prosthetic knees, allowing patients to walk comfortably with the prosthetic device in minutes, rather than the hours ... read more

Pioneering Surgery Restores Movement to Children Paralyzed by Acute Flaccid Myelitis

Jan. 15, 2019 — An innovative and complex surgery involving nerve transfers is restoring movement to young patients with paralysis caused by acute flaccid ... read more

Older People Who Use Hearing Aids Still Report Hearing Challenges

Jan. 7, 2019 — A high proportion of older people with hearing aids, especially those with lower incomes, report having trouble hearing and difficulty accessing hearing care services, according to a new ... read more

'Bionic Face' Experiments Could Lead to New Treatment Approach for Facial Paralysis

Jan. 3, 2019 — An implantable neuroprosthetic device may one day provide a new approach to restoring more natural facial movement in patients with one-sided facial paralysis (hemifacial palsy), suggests a new ... read more

New Insight Into the Process of Generation of New Neurons in the Adult Brain

Jan. 3, 2019 — Researchers have discovered a novel and unexpected function of nestin, the best known marker of neural stem ... read more

To Head Off Late-Life Depression, Check Your Hearing

Jan. 2, 2019 — A new study of elderly Hispanics found that hearing loss increased the risk of depression ... read more

Dec. 28, 2018 — Doctors have found that a surgery to reroute amputated nerves, called targeted muscle reinnervation, or TMR, can reduce or prevent phantom or residual limb pain from ever occurring in amputee ... read more

How the Brain Reacts to Loss of Vision

Dec. 19, 2018 — If mice lose their vision immediately after birth due to a genetic defect, this has a considerable impact, both on the organization of the cerebral cortex and on memory. Researchers demonstrated ... read more

Dec. 18, 2018 — Scientists identified two distinct control mechanisms in the developmental transition of undifferentiated stem cells into healthy brain cells. This fundamental research using mice may inform ... read more

Hearing Loss Is a Risk Factor for Premature Death

Dec. 12, 2018 — A new study links hearing loss with an increased risk for mortality before the age of 75 due to cardiovascular disease. Researchers found that mortality among those with hearing loss is elevated, ... read more

Medical Team Reports Acute Findings from Havana Embassy Phenomenon

Dec. 12, 2018 — Researchers have presented a report of acute symptoms and clinical findings in 25 diplomatic personnel living in the US Embassy in Havana, Cuba, who experienced severe neurosensory symptoms after ... read more

Dec. 10, 2018 — Neurons in the brain and spinal cord don't grow back after injury, unlike those in the rest of the body. Now, researchers have identified some of the key steps taken by nerves in the legs as ... read more

Spinal Injury Throws Body Clocks Off Schedule

Dec. 4, 2018 — In the hours and days after a traumatic injury, the gears of circadian clocks fall profoundly out of sync, disrupting body temperature, hormonal rhythms, and immune response, new research ... read more

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Friday, January 18, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Sunday, October 14, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Friday, June 29, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com