advertisement
Paleontology News
February 15, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 4:26pm EST

More Paleontology News
February 15, 2019

Ancient Mongolian Skull Is the Earliest Modern Human Yet Found in the Region

Jan. 30, 2019 — A much debated ancient human skull from Mongolia has been dated and genetically analyzed, showing that it is the earliest modern human yet found in the region, according to new ... read more

Jan. 29, 2019 — Long-necked dinosaurs (sauropods) could orient their forefeet both forward and sideways. The orientation of their feet depended on the speed and center of mass of the animals. An international team ... read more

Molecular Analysis of Anchiornis Feather Gives Clues to Origin of Flight

Jan. 28, 2019 — Researchers have performed molecular analysis on fossil feathers from a small, feathered dinosaur from the Jurassic. Their research could aid scientists in pinpointing when feathers evolved the ... read more

Jan. 28, 2019 — Investigations into what it means to be human have often focused on attempts to uncover the earliest material traces of 'art', 'language', or technological 'complexity'. ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — A new study offers a different version to the evolutionary past of modern-day crocodiles and alligators. The study says crocodiles and alligators came from a variety of surroundings beginning in the ... read more

Jan. 24, 2019 — No animal alive today looks quite like a duckbilled platypus, but about 250 million years ago something very similar swam the shallow seas in what is now China, finding prey by touch with a ... read more

Human Mutation Rate Has Slowed Recently

Jan. 22, 2019 — Researchers have discovered that the human mutation rate is significantly slower than for our closest primate relatives. The new knowledge may be important for estimates of when the common ancestor ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — A rapid rise in temperature on ancient Earth triggered a climate response that may have prolonged the warming for many thousands of years, according to ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — A researcher has added another piece to the puzzle of the evolution of modern baleen whales with a new study examining the teeth and enamel of baleen whales' ... read more

Jan. 21, 2019 — Paleontologists have discovered the first detailed fossil of a hagfish, the slimy, eel-like carrion feeders of the ocean. The 100-million-year-old fossil helps answer questions about when these ... read more

Jan. 21, 2019 — The world of the dinosaurs just got a bit more bizarre with a newly discovered species of freshwater shark whose tiny teeth resemble the alien ships from the popular 1980s video game ... read more

Scientists Confirm Pair of Skeletons Are from Same Early Hominin Species

Jan. 17, 2019 — Separate skeletons suggested to be from different early hominin species are, in fact, from the same species, a team of anthropologists has concluded in a comprehensive analysis of remains first ... read more

Jan. 16, 2019 — The onset of the most recent ice age about 2.6 million years ago changed where the western Gulf of Mexico gets its supply of sediments. The finding adds new insight into how extreme climate change ... read more

An Ancient Relative of Humans Shows a Surprisingly Modern Trait

Jan. 16, 2019 — A relative of modern humans that lived at least 104,000 years ago in northern China showed evidence of dental growth and development very similar to that of people today, a new study ... read more

Jan. 16, 2019 — By combining deep learning algorithms and statistical methods, investigators have identified, in the genome of Asian individuals, the footprint of a new hominid who cross bred with its ancestors tens ... read more

Coralline Red Algae Have Existed for 300 Million Years Longer Than Presumed

Jan. 16, 2019 — Coralline red algae have existed for 130 million years, in other words since the Cretaceous Period, the time of the dinosaurs. At least this was the established view of palaeontologists all over the ... read more

Jan. 14, 2019 — Near the Dutch town of Winterswijk is an Eldorado for fossil lovers. A student has now analyzed pieces from museums and private collections for his master's thesis. He found an amazing amount of ... read more

Plant Phytolith and Water Content Influence Rate of Tooth Enamel Abrasion in Vertebrates

Jan. 11, 2019 — Plant phytolith and water content cause differing degrees of tooth enamel abrasion in vertebrates. This study has implications for how tooth wear in extinct animals is interpreted and how this ... read more

Reconstruction of Trilobite Ancestral Range in the Southern Hemisphere

Jan. 9, 2019 — Brazilian researchers used biogeographic analysis to study trilobites -- arthropods that became extinct over 252 million years ... read more

Jan. 9, 2019 — Deploying a new technique for the first time in the region, geoscientists have reconstructed the longest and highest-resolution climate record for the Northeastern United States, which reveals ... read more

Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com