advertisement
Early Climate News
January 16, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 2:56am EST

More Early Climate News
January 16, 2019

Nov. 21, 2018 — The fossil record of early hominins in South Africa is biased towards periods of drier climate, suggests a study of cave deposits. This finding suggests there are gaps in the fossil record, ... read more

Nov. 20, 2018 — Antarctica is high and dry and mostly bitterly cold, and it's easy to think of its ice and snow as locked away in a freezer, protected from melt except around its low-lying coasts and floating ... read more

'True Polar Wander' May Have Caused Ice Age

Nov. 19, 2018 — Earth's latest ice age may have been caused by changes deep inside the planet. Based on evidence from the Pacific Ocean, including the position of the Hawaiian ... read more

Nov. 15, 2018 — A new study has demonstrated a possible link between life on Earth and the movement of continents. The findings show that sediment, which is often comprised from pieces of dead organisms, could play ... read more

Nov. 14, 2018 — A new study found evidence that climate change likely drove the Harappans to resettle far away from the floodplains of the ... read more

Alpine Ice Shows Three-Fold Increase in Atmospheric Iodine

Nov. 12, 2018 — Analysis of iodine trapped in Alpine ice has shown that levels of atmospheric iodine have tripled over the past century, which partially offsets human-driven increases in the air pollutant, ... read more

Nov. 9, 2018 — Remains of chironomid subfossils, a type of insects similar to mosquitoes, were used to reconstruct the temperature of the Iberian Peninsula in the Holocene, the geological period that goes from ... read more

One Million Years of Precipitation History of the Monsoon Reconstructed

Nov. 8, 2018 — With its wind and precipitation patterns, the South Asian Monsoon influences the lives of several billion people. Recent studies indicate that its drivers are more complex than previously assumed. ... read more

Enhanced Views of Earth Tectonics

Nov. 5, 2018 — Scientists have used data from the European Space Agency (ESA), Gravity field and steady-state Ocean Circulation Explorer (GOCE) mission to unveil key geological features of the Earth's ... read more

Oct. 31, 2018 — New research shows for the first time how the changing climate in Asia, from 5,000 to 1,000 years ago, transformed people's ability to produce food in particular places. The model enables the ... read more

Oct. 29, 2018 — Dramatic increases in wildfire over the last few decades have garnered considerable media attention. Numerous headlines have claimed that the amount of wildfire in the western US is unprecedented. ... read more

Oct. 24, 2018 — Scientist are working to improve climate models using paleoclimate proxies, indicators like chemical compounds in plants and microorganisms preserved in ancient lake sediments that hold rich data ... read more

Oct. 24, 2018 — Researchers have discovered what are believed to be the oldest weapons ever found in North America: ancient spear points that are 15,500 years old. The findings raise new questions about the ... read more

Climate Change: US Desert Areas to Become Even Drier

Oct. 24, 2018 — Geologists study rainfall patterns in the distant past to better understand how deserts in the southwest United States will be impacted by future climate ... read more

Oct. 24, 2018 — The same process that allows rock to flow like liquid during impact events allows 'peak rings' to form in large ... read more

Current Mix of Soil Bacteria and Climate Conditions 50 Years Ago

Oct. 23, 2018 — Scientists expect climate change influences the geographical distribution of microbes in the soil, but few studies have dug deeply into that relationship. A new study suggests the connection can drag ... read more

Oct. 23, 2018 — The evolution of giant tortoise might not be linked to islands, as had been previously thought. In a first-of-its-kind study, researchers present the most comprehensive family tree of extinct and ... read more

Climate Stress Will Make Cities More Vulnerable

Oct. 18, 2018 — The fall of Angkor has long puzzled historians, archaeologists and scientists, but now a research team is one step closer to discovering what led to the city's demise -- and it comes with a ... read more

Oct. 15, 2018 — For the first time, scientists have traced the north-south shifts of the northern-most edge of the tropics back 800 years. The movement of the tropical boundary affects the locations of Northern ... read more

Does Climate Vary More from Century to Century When It Is Warmer?

Oct. 12, 2018 — Century-scale climate variability was enhanced when the Earth was warmer during the Last Interglacial period (129,000-116,000 years ago) compared to the current interglacial (the last 11,700 years), ... read more

Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Monday, September 3, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Monday, April 16, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com