advertisement
Fossils & Ruins News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:56am EST

More Fossils & Ruins News
February 20, 2019

There's a Place for Us: New Research Reveals Humanity's Roles in Ecosystems

Feb. 17, 2019 — In two back-to-back symposia a cross-disciplinary cohort of scientists will present the first comprehensive investigations of how humans interacted with plant and animal species in different cultures ... read more

Feb. 13, 2019 — 'Megalodon' -- a giant predatory shark that has inspired numerous documentaries, books and blockbuster movies -- likely went extinct at least one million years earlier than previously ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — A new study on ice cores shows that reductions in sea ice in the Arctic in the period between 30-100,000 years ago led to major climate events. During this period, Greenland temperatures rose by as ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — Scientists have uncovered the oldest fossilized traces of motility. Whereas previous remnants were dated to 570 million years ago, this new evidence is 2.1 billion years old. They were discovered in ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — The allure of smartphones, and how they impact our interpersonal relationships, might be the result of our evolutionary history, according to ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — About 800 years ago, a ship sank in the Java Sea. There are no written records saying where the ship was going or where it came from -- the only clues are the mostly-disintegrated structure of the ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — Three and a half billion years ago Earth hosted life, but was it barely surviving, or thriving? A new study provides new answers to this question. Microbial metabolism is recorded in billions of ... read more

New Technique Pinpoints Milestones in the Evolution of Bacteria

Feb. 7, 2019 — Scientists have devised a reliable way to determine when certain groups of bacteria appeared in the evolutionary record. The technique could be used to identify when significant changes occurred in ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — The 'perching birds,' or passerines, are the most common birds in the world today -- they include sparrows, robins, and finches. They used to be very rare. Scientists have just discovered ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — A new study has revealed how a group of deep-sea microbes provides clues to the evolution of life on Earth. Researchers used cutting-edge molecular methods to study these microbes, which thrive in ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — A new oviraptorosaur species from the Late Cretaceous was discovered in ... read more

Research Explains How Snakes Lost Their Limbs

Feb. 6, 2019 — The study is part of an effort to understand how changes in the genome lead to changes in ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Researchers have developed an artificial intelligence (AI) program that can automatically provide species-level identification of microscopic marine organisms. The next step is to incorporate the AI ... read more

Prehistoric Food Globalization Spanned Three Millennia

Feb. 6, 2019 — Prehistoric peasant farmers struggling to put more food on the table fueled the global spread of some of the world's first and most important domesticated grain crops beginning as early as 7,000 ... read more

A Taste for Fat May Have Made Us Human

Feb. 5, 2019 — A new article argues that early human ancestors acquired a taste for fat long before they began hunting for meat by scavenging marrow from the skeletal remains of large ... read more

Feb. 5, 2019 — Researchers have developed a new isotopic method to analyze the recent history of large stratospheric volcanic eruptions, using 2,600 years' worth of records contained in ice cores from ... read more

Medieval Inks for Heritage Conservation

Feb. 5, 2019 — Researchers have replicated five medieval inks using 15th and 16th century ... read more

Over 800 New Genome Regions Possibly Relevant to Human Evolution Identified

Feb. 5, 2019 — Researchers have found genetic evidence of adaptations in 2,859 regions of the human genome, including some well-known examples such as those responsible for milk tolerance or high-altitude ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — A field trip to Namibia to study volcanic rocks led to an unexpected discovery by ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — A 150-year-old fossil feather mystery has been solved. Researchers applied a novel imaging technique, laser-stimulated fluorescence, revealing the missing quill of the first fossil feather ever ... read more

Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com