advertisement
Sustainability News
January 16, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 3:25am EST

More Sustainability News
January 16, 2019

Racial Inequality in the Deployment of Rooftop Solar Energy in the United States, Study Finds

Jan. 10, 2019 — Fewer rooftop solar photovoltaics installations exist in African-American and Hispanic-dominant neighborhoods than in white-dominant neighborhoods, even when controlling for household income and home ... read more

Satellite Images Reveal Global Poverty

Jan. 7, 2019 — How far have we come in achieving the UN's sustainable development goals that we are committed to nationally and internationally? Yes, it can be difficult to make a global assessment of poverty ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — Engineers have developed an innovative, low-cost technology to turn seawater into drinking water, thanks to the use of solar energy ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — An international team of scientists, involving entomologists, conservation biologists, agro-ecologists and geographers, has just revealed how on-farm biological control can slow the pace of tropical ... read more

Jan. 7, 2019 — Scientists have developed and analyzed a novel catalyst for the oxidation of 5-hydroxymethyl furfural, which is crucial for generating new raw materials that replace the classic non-renewable ones ... read more

Jan. 2, 2019 — Seagrass beds are so effective in protecting tropical beaches from erosion, that they can reduce the need for regular, expensive beach nourishments that are used now. Biologists and engineers from ... read more

Pine Needles from Christmas Trees Could Be Turned Into Paint and Food Sweeteners

Dec. 27, 2018 — Abandoned Christmas trees could be saved from landfill and turned into paint and food sweeteners according to new ... read more

Sustainable 'Plastics' Are on the Horizon

Dec. 25, 2018 — A new study describes a process to make bioplastic polymers that don't require land or fresh water -- resources that are scarce in much of the world. The resulting material is biodegradable, ... read more

Divining Roots: Revealing How Plants Branch out to Access Water

Dec. 22, 2018 — New research has discovered how plant roots sense the availability of moisture in soil and then adapt their shape to optimise acquisition of ... read more

Responsible Innovation Key to Smart Farming

Dec. 21, 2018 — Responsible innovation that considers the wider impacts on society is key to smart farming, according to academics. Scientists argue that the concept of responsible innovation should underpin the ... read more

Dec. 20, 2018 — Scientists have designed an electrocatalytic mechanism that works like a mammalian lung to convert water into fuel. Their research could help existing clean energy technologies run more ... read more

Dec. 19, 2018 — Artificial intelligence and extensive satellite imagery have allowed researchers to map the world's intertidal zones for the first time, revealing a significant loss of the crucial ecosystem. ... read more

Upwind Wind Plants Can Reduce Flow to Downwind Neighbors

Dec. 18, 2018 — New research highlights a previously unexplored consequence of the global proliferation of wind energy facilities: a wake effect from upwind facilities that can reduce the energy production of their ... read more

Takeaway Containers -- The Environmental Cost of Packing Our Favorite Fast-Foods

Dec. 18, 2018 — Scientists say more should be done to tackle the growing environmental impact of takeaway food containers. A new study estimates there are 2025 million takeaway containers per year being used in the ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — The ghosts of harvesting can haunt today's conservation efforts. Conserving or overharvesting a renewable resource like fish or other wildlife is often determined by habits and past decisions, ... read more

Dec. 17, 2018 — A 'gold rush' of seabed mining could lead to unprecedented damage to fragile deep-sea ecosystems, researchers have ... read more

Dec. 14, 2018 — Researchers praises widespread commitment but call for broader participation to better protect global marine ... read more

Monitoring the Environment With Artificial Intelligence

Dec. 13, 2018 — Microorganisms perform key functions in ecosystems and their diversity reflects the health of their environment. Researchers use genomic tools to sequence the DNA of microorganisms in samples, and ... read more

Climate Change Imperils Midwest Ag Production

Dec. 12, 2018 — A new study shows that Midwest agriculture is increasingly vulnerable to climate change because of the region's reliance on growing rain-fed ... read more

Dec. 11, 2018 — A new study shows that several species of bats are giving Madagascar's rice farmers a vital pest control service by feasting on plagues of insects. And this, a zoologist believes, can ease the ... read more

Thursday, January 10, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Friday, October 5, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Friday, September 21, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com