advertisement
Rainforests News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:55am EST

More Rainforests News
December 12, 2018

Missing the Forest for the Trees: An Unexpected Picture of New York City Forests

Dec. 6, 2018 — An inventory of New York City's expansive yet overlooked 'forested natural areas' reveals that, contrary to previous reports, native species still comprise about 82 percent of the ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — In a study with implications for biodiversity and the spread of infectious diseases, ecologists have demonstrated that deforestation and habitat fragmentation can decrease transmission of a parasitic ... read more

Tropical Trees in the Andes Are Moving Up -- Toward Extinction

Nov. 14, 2018 — In the most comprehensive study of its kind, biologists have found that tropical and subtropical forests across South America's Andes Mountains are responding to warming temperatures by ... read more

Large Areas of the Brazilian Rainforest at Risk of Losing Protection

Nov. 14, 2018 — Up to 15 million hectares of the Brazilian Amazon is at risk of losing its legal protection, according to a new ... read more

Streamside Forests Store Tons of Carbon

Nov. 12, 2018 — Researchers have compiled carbon storage data from 117 publications, reports, and other data sets on streamside forests around the world. Researchers found that the average amount of carbon stored in ... read more

Nov. 12, 2018 — A warming climate is pushing organisms towards the circumpolar areas and mountain peaks. A recently conducted study on changes in bird populations reveals that protected areas slow down the ... read more

Short Stature in Rainforest Hunter-Gatherers Potentially Linked to Cardiac Adaptations

Nov. 12, 2018 — African and Asian rainforest hunter-gatherers share short stature, and now an international team of researchers has shown that this is an example of convergent adaptation that may also be linked to ... read more

It's Not Trails That Disturb Forest Birds, but the People on Them

Nov. 12, 2018 — The physical presence of trails has less impact on forest birds than how frequently the trails are used by people, finds the first study to disentangle the effect of forest trails from the presence ... read more

Nov. 9, 2018 — Geographers have found that coastal vegetation such as mangroves, seagrasses, and salt marshes may be the most effective habitats to mitigate carbon ... read more

Nov. 7, 2018 — A warmer, drier climate is expected is increase the likelihood of larger-scale forest disturbances such as wildfires, insect outbreaks, disease and drought, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 7, 2018 — Banks, pension funds and other institutional investors have a key role to play in efforts to avoid dangerous climate change. A limited number of these investors have considerable influence over the ... read more

Tropical Mountain Species in the Crosshairs of Climate Change

Nov. 6, 2018 — Lack of varied seasons and temperatures in tropical mountains have led to species that are highly adapted to their narrow niches, creating the right conditions for new species to arise in these ... read more

'Cryptic' Interactions Drive Biodiversity Decline Near the Edge of Forest Fragments

Nov. 1, 2018 — The fragmentation of tropical forests weakens the effects of the 'natural enemies' of some tree species, reducing their ability to maintain biodiversity, a new Yale-led study found. In an ... read more

Nov. 1, 2018 — Researchers compared wild bee communities in the tropical dry forest of Mexico living in three habitat conditions: preserved vegetation, agricultural sites and urbanized ... read more

Roadmap for Filling the Gaps in Forest Pollinator Research

Nov. 1, 2018 — Actively managed conifer forests may also provide important habitat for the pollinators that aid the reproduction of food crops and other flowering plants around the ... read more

Oct. 31, 2018 — Researchers looking at the aftermath of wildfires in southwestern Oregon and northern California found that after 20 years, even in severely burned areas, Douglas fir grew back on its own without the ... read more

Oct. 31, 2018 — Due to its biodiversity and probably huge number of taxa waiting to be discovered, soil fauna has been called the poor man's rain forest. A new research article analyses the biodiversity of ... read more

Are We Losing One of Our Biggest CO2 Sinks?

Oct. 31, 2018 — Seagrasses help to buffer against climate change, but we are losing a soccer field size seagrass area every 30 ... read more

Increasing Frequency of Ocean Storms Could Alter Kelp Forest Ecosystems

Oct. 30, 2018 — A future with stormier seas may bring strong changes to the biodiversity of coastal sea life, according to new ... read more

Oct. 29, 2018 — Species of reptiles, amphibians and other vertebrates are becoming extinct in Haiti as deforestation has claimed more than 99 percent of the country's original wooded ... read more

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Friday, August 17, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com