advertisement
Exotic Species News
February 19, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:26pm EST

More Exotic Species News
February 19, 2019

Feb. 11, 2019 — A new species of the Brazil-endemic small genus Mcvaughia described as part of a extended revision of this unique group. Mcvaughia is a genus of the plant family Malpighiaceae comprising just three ... read more

New Islands, Happy Feet: Study Reveals Island Formation a Key Driver of Penguin Speciation

Feb. 5, 2019 — Ever since Darwin first set foot on the Galapagos, evolutionary biologists have long known that the geographic isolation of archipelagos has helped spur the formation of new species. Now, an ... read more

Feb. 4, 2019 — Introduced and invasive species can present big problems, particularly when those species are charismatic. Some introduced species, like zebra mussels, tend to be reviled by the public, and people ... read more

Scientists Strategize for Better Conservation Plans

Feb. 2, 2019 — Endangered and invasive species may be better managed in the future with new ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — Warmer water temperatures, combined with low-level exposure to chemicals already known to be harmful to aquatic life, influence the expression of genes in the offspring of an abundant North American ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — A scavenger study that used fish carcasses as bait provides additional evidence that wildlife is abundant in the Chernobyl Exclusion ... read more

Achieving a Balance: Animal Welfare and Conservation

Jan. 31, 2019 — Animal care experts and veterinarians evaluate the balance between animal welfare and conservation needs for a number of rare species of native birds being raised in San Diego Zoo Global breeding ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — No more than 10 curious non-professionals with a passion for nature is all it takes to find a new species of minute beetle in the tropical leaf litter, shows a recent expedition to the Ulu Temburong ... read more

Crossbreeding Threatens Conservation of Endangered Milky Storks

Jan. 31, 2019 — A team of researchers has discovered that the conservation of milky storks, an endangered wading bird native to Southeast Asia, is threatened due to crossbreeding with their more widespread cousins, ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — New research by the Threatened Species Recovery Hub has identified the top 100 Australian plant species at risk of extinction. Three quarters of Australia's threatened species are ... read more

How to Send a Finch Extinct

Jan. 29, 2019 — An endangered Queensland bird is at risk of extinction because environmental legislation is failing to protect its habitat, according to a University of Queensland-led study. Researchers reviewed ... read more

Why Large Forest Fires May Not Be a Big Threat to Some Endangered Animals

Jan. 29, 2019 — A new study shows that certain endangered owls may continue to persist and even flourish after large forest ... read more

For Endangered Lemurs, Internet Fame Has a Dark Side

Jan. 28, 2019 — A ring-tailed lemur named Sefo became an internet sensation in 2016 when a video of him demanding back scratches from two boys was viewed 20 million times in a week. Now, a new study of Twitter ... read more

Biosecurity Strategy Needed for China's Belt and Road Initiative

Jan. 24, 2019 — China's Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), launched five years ago, includes more than 120 countries, linked by six proposed land-based Economic Corridors between core cities and key ports along ... read more

Impacts of Invasive Species Are Often Difficult to Predict

Jan. 24, 2019 — Invasive species can put native animal and plant species on the brink of extinction. They often go undetected for a long time, or their damaging impacts are not immediately clear. This phenomenon - ... read more

Jan. 23, 2019 — Land conservation programs that have converted tens of thousands of acres of agricultural land in Illinois back to a more natural state appear to have helped some rare birds increase their ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Designating relatively small parcels of land as protected areas for wildlife with no habitat management -- which has frequently been done in urban-suburban locales around the world -- likely does not ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Researchers have carried out research in Southwest Cameroon to assess which proportion of forest would be necessary in order to provide sufficient habitat for rainforest bird ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Scientists predict that certain regions of the United States will experience higher levels of pollutants that cause smog, acid rain and respiratory problems due changes in forest soils from climate ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — The two seabird species unique to Hawaii, Newell's shearwaters and Hawaiian petrels, are the focus of major conservation efforts -- at risk from habitat degradation, invasive predators, and ... read more

Monday, February 11, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 28, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com