advertisement
Hazardous Waste News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:25am EST

More Hazardous Waste News
December 12, 2018

Recycle Your Old Mobile Phone to Save Gorilla Populations

Dec. 5, 2018 — The link between hoarding disused mobile phones and the decimation of Grauer gorilla habitats is explored in a new ... read more

Flounder Now Tumor-Free in Boston Harbor

Nov. 28, 2018 — In the late 1980s, more than three-quarters of the winter flounder caught in Boston Harbor -- one of the most polluted harbors in America -- showed signs of liver disease, many of them with cancerous ... read more

Nov. 21, 2018 — Water which has been contaminated with mercury and other toxic heavy metals is a major cause of environmental damage and health problems worldwide. Now, researchers present a totally new way to clean ... read more

Fish Can Detox Too -- But Not So Well, When It Comes to Mercury

Nov. 20, 2018 — By examining the tissues at a subcellular level, researchers discovered yelloweye rockfish were able to immobilize several potentially toxic elements within their liver tissues (cadmium, lead, and ... read more

Fish and Veggies: Water Flow for More Efficient Aquaponic Systems

Nov. 20, 2018 — In aquaponics, the hydroponic crops use the nutrients from fish waste as fertilizer while the fish benefit from the plants' nutrient uptake capability to improve water quality. The treated water ... read more

Nov. 15, 2018 — A study quantifies the presence of textile microfibers in south European marine floors. Researchers analyzed the amount of these colored fibers, which vary between 3 to 8 mm but are extremely fine, ... read more

Experimental Plasma Generator Offers Path Forward for Better Use of Landfill Gas as Energy

Nov. 6, 2018 — Landfill gases contain numerous contaminants, but one group has demonstrated a promising new application of plasma technology capable of removing such compounds. Researchers have demonstrated an ... read more

Villagers Follow the Geology to Safer Water in Bangladesh

Nov. 5, 2018 — Water researchers have found a way to fight the 'king of poisons' that accounts for one of every 20 deaths in ... read more

Nov. 2, 2018 — Researchers has found a way to turn plastic bottle waste into ultralight polyethylene terephthalate (PET) aerogels that are suitable for various applications, including heat insulation and carbon ... read more

Impact of Mercury-Controlling Policies Shrinks With Every Five-Year Delay, Study Finds

Nov. 1, 2018 — A new study finds that the longer countries wait to reduce mercury emissions, the more legacy emissions will accumulate in the environment, and the less effective any emissions-reducing policies will ... read more

Nov. 1, 2018 — A new study of the response to the 2010 Deepwater Horizon in the Gulf of Mexico showed that massive quantities of chemically engineered dispersants injected at the wellhead -- roughly 1,500 meters ... read more

Laser Technique May Open Door to More Efficient Clean Fuels

Oct. 30, 2018 — Electrocatalysts have shown promise as a way to efficiently convert waste CO2 into clean fuels, but the mechanisms by which they operate are often unknown making it hard for researchers to design new ... read more

Reducing Methane Emissions Can Play a Key Role in Reducing Ozone Worldwide

Oct. 30, 2018 — A new report points to inexpensive and profitable solutions to reduce methane emissions in the energy, waste, wastewater and agriculture ... read more

High Levels of Previously Unsuspected Pollutant Uncovered in Homes, Environment

Oct. 30, 2018 — Scientists have found high levels of a previously unsuspected pollutant in homes, in an electronic waste recycling facility and in the natural environment. People are likely to be exposed to this ... read more

As Canadian Oil Exports Increase, Research Explores Effects of Crude Oil on Native Salmon

Oct. 29, 2018 — Oil spills spell disaster for affected wildlife, leading to detrimental outcomes, including suffocation, poisoning and problems related to exposure to crude oil and its components. Researchers now ... read more

Wood Sponge Soaks Up Oil from Water

Oct. 24, 2018 — Oil spills and industrial discharge can contaminate water with greasy substances. Although it's true that oil and water don't mix, separating and recovering each component can still be ... read more

Oct. 23, 2018 — Despite the existence of chemical-free methods to eradicate pests, Americans use more than a billion pounds of pesticides per year. These chemicals are mostly out of sight and out of mind to ... read more

Motley Crews of Bacteria Cleanse Water at Huge Oceanic Georgia Aquarium Exhibit

Oct. 23, 2018 — Good bacteria cleaning water in Georgia Aquarium's huge oceanic exhibit delivered a nice surprise to researchers. The aquarium wanted to know which bacteria were at work, so oceanic biochemists ... read more

Oct. 22, 2018 — Elevated concentrations of strontium, an element associated with oil and gas wastewaters, have accumulated in the shells of freshwater mussels downstream from fracking wastewater disposal ... read more

Irrigating Vegetables With Wastewater in African Cities May Spread Disease

Oct. 12, 2018 — Urban farmers growing vegetables to feed millions of people in Africa's ever-growing cities could unwittingly be helping to spread disease by irrigating crops with wastewater, a new study ... read more

Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Sunday, August 26, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Sunday, August 19, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Friday, June 1, 2018
Thursday, May 31, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Friday, May 25, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com