advertisement
Forest News
December 12, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 6:25am EST

More Forest News
December 12, 2018

Missing the Forest for the Trees: An Unexpected Picture of New York City Forests

Dec. 6, 2018 — An inventory of New York City's expansive yet overlooked 'forested natural areas' reveals that, contrary to previous reports, native species still comprise about 82 percent of the ... read more

Peace, Not War, Responsible for Deforestation in Armed Conflict Zones

Dec. 5, 2018 — Rates of deforestation in war zones increase dramatically once peace is declared, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 29, 2018 — In a study with implications for biodiversity and the spread of infectious diseases, ecologists have demonstrated that deforestation and habitat fragmentation can decrease transmission of a parasitic ... read more

Six Feet Under, a New Approach to Global Warming

Nov. 26, 2018 — A researcher has found that one-fourth of the carbon held by soil is bound to minerals as far as six feet below the surface. The discovery opens a new possibility for dealing with the element as it ... read more

Nov. 20, 2018 — Researchers show the results of dating of isotopes of carbon carried aloft in smoke from burning peatlands in Indonesia in 2015. Some of the particles are from plants that were alive in the 14th ... read more

Major Natural Carbon Sink May Soon Become Carbon Source

Nov. 20, 2018 — Peatlands in some parts of the world, including Canada, Siberia and Southeast Asia, have already turned into significant carbon sources. The same fate may be coming soon for the Peruvian ... read more

PNW Woodlands Will Be Less Vulnerable to Drought, Fire Than Rocky Mountain, Sierra Forests

Nov. 16, 2018 — Forests in the Pacific Northwest will be less vulnerable to drought and fire over the next three decades than those in the Rocky Mountains and Sierra Nevada, computer modeling ... read more

Nov. 14, 2018 — A new study found that 21 percentof the United States' greenhouse gas pollution (1.2 Pg CO2e year) could be removed through enhanced management of forest, grassland, agricultural, and coastal ... read more

Tropical Trees in the Andes Are Moving Up -- Toward Extinction

Nov. 14, 2018 — In the most comprehensive study of its kind, biologists have found that tropical and subtropical forests across South America's Andes Mountains are responding to warming temperatures by ... read more

Large Areas of the Brazilian Rainforest at Risk of Losing Protection

Nov. 14, 2018 — Up to 15 million hectares of the Brazilian Amazon is at risk of losing its legal protection, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 13, 2018 — Many people see the carbon cycle as vertical -- CO2 moving up and down between soil, plants and the atmosphere. However, new research adds a dimension to the vertical perspective by showing how water ... read more

Streamside Forests Store Tons of Carbon

Nov. 12, 2018 — Researchers have compiled carbon storage data from 117 publications, reports, and other data sets on streamside forests around the world. Researchers found that the average amount of carbon stored in ... read more

Misunderstood Flying Fox Could Prove Bat Species Demise, Warn Scientists

Nov. 12, 2018 — A large fruit-eating bat native to Mauritius is the subject of controversy over the announcement of a major cull to protect the Indian island's fruit crops, despite a lack of evidence as to the ... read more

It's Not Trails That Disturb Forest Birds, but the People on Them

Nov. 12, 2018 — The physical presence of trails has less impact on forest birds than how frequently the trails are used by people, finds the first study to disentangle the effect of forest trails from the presence ... read more

Nov. 9, 2018 — Geographers have found that coastal vegetation such as mangroves, seagrasses, and salt marshes may be the most effective habitats to mitigate carbon ... read more

Nov. 7, 2018 — A warmer, drier climate is expected is increase the likelihood of larger-scale forest disturbances such as wildfires, insect outbreaks, disease and drought, according to a new ... read more

Nov. 7, 2018 — Banks, pension funds and other institutional investors have a key role to play in efforts to avoid dangerous climate change. A limited number of these investors have considerable influence over the ... read more

Tropical Mountain Species in the Crosshairs of Climate Change

Nov. 6, 2018 — Lack of varied seasons and temperatures in tropical mountains have led to species that are highly adapted to their narrow niches, creating the right conditions for new species to arise in these ... read more

Fleets of Drones Could Aid Searches for Lost Hikers

Nov. 2, 2018 — Researchers describe an autonomous system for a fleet of drones to collaboratively search under dense forest canopies. The drones use only onboard computation and wireless communication -- no GPS ... read more

'Cryptic' Interactions Drive Biodiversity Decline Near the Edge of Forest Fragments

Nov. 1, 2018 — The fragmentation of tropical forests weakens the effects of the 'natural enemies' of some tree species, reducing their ability to maintain biodiversity, a new Yale-led study found. In an ... read more

Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Monday, September 10, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Thursday, September 6, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Friday, August 17, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com