advertisement
Environmental Issues News
December 15, 2018

Latest Headlines
updated 5:25pm EST

More Environmental Issues News
December 15, 2018

Dec. 14, 2018 — Researchers praises widespread commitment but call for broader participation to better protect global marine ... read more

Record-Wet and Record-Dry Months Increased in Regions Worldwide

Dec. 12, 2018 — More and more rainfall extremes are observed in regions around the globe -- triggering both wet and dry records, a new study shows. Yet there are big differences between regions: The central and ... read more

Dec. 11, 2018 — A new study finds that hypoxic dead zones occur in nutrient-laden urban streams, not just in coastal waters. The research shows that intense storm flows can erode some stream channels to become a ... read more

Degrading Permafrost Puts Arctic Infrastructure at Risk by Mid-Century

Dec. 11, 2018 — Seventy percent of the current infrastructure in the Arctic has a high potential to be affected by thawing permafrost in the next 30 years. Even meeting the climate change targets of the Paris ... read more

52 Million Tree Stories More Accessible to Science

Dec. 11, 2018 — The world's primary archive of tree ring data, which holds more than 52 million cost-free records spanning 8,000 years of history, has gotten a makeover by scientists from four countries ... read more

Possible Connection Between Cardiovascular Disease and Living Near Oil and Gas Wells

Dec. 11, 2018 — Researchers have found a possible connection between the intensity of oil and gas exploration in an area and early indicators of cardiovascular disease among nearby ... read more

Switching to a Home Battery Won't Help Save the World from Climate Change

Dec. 11, 2018 — Home energy storage systems might save you money, but under current policies, they would also often increase carbon ... read more

Bioenergy Crops Could Be as Bad for Biodiversity as Climate Change

Dec. 10, 2018 — A large scale expansion in bioenergy crop production could be just as detrimental to biodiversity as climate change itself, according to new ... read more

How Will the Winds of Climate Change Affect Migratory Birds?

Dec. 10, 2018 — Under future climate scenarios, changing winds may make it harder for North American birds to migrate southward in the autumn, but make it easier for them to come back north in the spring. ... read more

Ozone Depletion Increases Antarctic Snowfall, Partially Mitigates Ice Sheet Loss

Dec. 10, 2018 — Ozone layer depletion has increased snowfall over Antarctica in recent decades, partially mitigating the ongoing loss of the continent's ice sheet mass, new research ... read more

Dec. 7, 2018 — The production of chlorofluorocarbons, which damage the ozone layer, has been banned as far as possible. However, other substances can also tear holes in the ozone layer in combination with ice ... read more

Dec. 7, 2018 — One out of three rivers in the Iberian Peninsula has salinization mainly due the impact of agricultural activity and territory urbanization. This environmental problem will affect hydric ecosystems ... read more

New Algorithm Provides a More Detailed Look at Urban Heat Islands

Dec. 7, 2018 — Urban areas are warmer than the adjacent undeveloped land, a phenomenon known as the urban heat island effect. A new interactive map gives us the most detailed look yet at these 'urban heat ... read more

Rules to Boost Fuel Economy for Passenger Vehicles Will Do More Good Than Harm, New Study Shows

Dec. 6, 2018 — Experts conclude that rules on the books to increase fuel economy for passenger vehicles will do more good than harm, contradicting claims by the Trump administration as it seeks to roll back fuel ... read more

Fighting Smog Supports Solar Power

Dec. 6, 2018 — Model calculations by researchers show that if China fought smog more aggressively, it could massively increase solar power ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — New research has reported effective conservation strategies that can mitigate the impacts of climate warming on sea turtle nesting ... read more

Transforming Our Food System to Ensure a Sustainable Future

Dec. 6, 2018 — By 2050, the world will have almost 10 billion people. It will be impossible to feed everyone without exacerbating poverty, accelarting deforestation and increasing GHG emissions unless we start ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — Industrial fisheries are starving seabirds like penguins and terns by competing for the same prey sources. Seabirds are now the most threatened bird ... read more

Report Reveals Link Between Air Pollution and Increased Risk for Miscarriage

Dec. 5, 2018 — Researchers found women living along the Wasatch Front -- the most populous region in the state of Utah -- had a higher risk (16 percent) of miscarriage following short-term exposure to elevated air ... read more

Wind Power Vulnerable to Climate Change in India

Dec. 5, 2018 — The warming of the Indian Ocean, caused by global climate change, may be causing a slow decline in wind power potential in India, according to a new ... read more

Friday, December 14, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Saturday, December 1, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Friday, November 16, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018

http://www.vxiaotou.com