advertisement
Ecosystems News
March 26, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:55am EDT

More Ecosystems News
March 26, 2019

Mar. 25, 2019 — A study on climate warming in an Oklahoma tallgrass prairie has implications for understanding and predicting ecological consequences of climate change and ecosystem management strategies. More rapid ... read more

Research Investigates Impact of Climate Change on Glacier-Fed Rivers in Peru

Mar. 21, 2019 — Remote communities in the Peruvian Andes, as well as communities downstream, depend on the water from melting glaciers and mountain ecosystems to provide them with food and power, and to support ... read more

Scientists Study Fish to Learn How to Adapt to the Impacts of Climate Change

Mar. 19, 2019 — Freshwater biodiversity is rapidly declining worldwide, and nature-based solutions which increase the resilience of ecological communities are becoming increasingly important in helping communities ... read more

Mar. 18, 2019 — A new study has showed that until now, scientists have been substantially underestimating how quickly gases are exchanged between mountain streams and the atmosphere. Based on research in the Swiss ... read more

Climate Change Negatively Affects Waterbirds in the American West

Mar. 18, 2019 — New research shows that recent climate change is having profound effects on wetlands across the American West - affecting birds that use these wetlands for breeding, migration and ... read more

Mar. 18, 2019 — Nitric oxide (NO) is a central molecule of the global nitrogen cycle. A study reveals that microorganisms can grow on NO. Their results change our view of the earth's nitrogen cycle and how ... read more

Mar. 15, 2019 — Scientists have completed one of the largest and longest examinations to trace unprocessed nitrate movement in forests. The team found that some nitrate occasionally moves too fast for biological ... read more

Using Thoreau, Scientists Measure the Impact of Climate Change on Wildflowers

Mar. 14, 2019 — A new study is using observations made by Henry David Thoreau -- 19th-century American naturalist, social reformer, and philosopher -- to explore the effects of climate change on tree leaf-out and, ... read more

Role of Sea Urchins on California Kelp

Mar. 14, 2019 — California sheephead and spiny lobsters may be helping control sea urchin populations in Southern California kelp forests, where sea otters -- a top urchin predator -- have long been missing, ... read more

Mar. 14, 2019 — 'Great Dying' extinction survivors appear to have shared many of the same ecological roles as their predecessors, with one catch -- there was a surge in the number of individuals with more ... read more

Hungry Moose More Tolerant of Wolves' Presence

Mar. 13, 2019 — Research in western Wyoming shows that close proximity of wolves does cause moose to move, but not enough to drive them from their preferred habitats -- especially late in the ... read more

Mar. 13, 2019 — Researchers found that inland river dams can have highly destructive effects on the stability and productivity of coastline and estuarine habitats, which provide protection from storms, commercial ... read more

What Do Gardens Bring to Urban Ecosystems?

Mar. 13, 2019 — Twin Cities research moves urban agriculture ... read more

Mar. 13, 2019 — More than a quarter of the species in their dataset showed seasonal interest. For these seasonal species, the researchers found that the timing and amount of internet activity is a highly accurate ... read more

Desert Plants Provided by Homeowners Offer Habitat for Desert Bird Species

Mar. 12, 2019 — A persistent question among urban ecology researchers has been the long-term impact of urbanization on bird species biodiversity. Specifically, they wonder whether the portions of cities with higher ... read more

Mar. 12, 2019 — New research suggests climate change makes it increasingly difficult for tree seedlings to regenerate following wildfires in low-elevation forests, which could contribute to abrupt forest ... read more

Mar. 12, 2019 — A new study documents an unprecedented number of southern marine species moving northward into California and as far north as Oregon during the 2014-2016 marine heatwave. Of 67 rare, warm-water ... read more

Impacts of Marine and Freshwater Predators on Ecosystems and Society

Mar. 12, 2019 — A new study reports on the diverse ways that aquatic predators, such as sharks and alligators, can impact ecosystems and also benefit human society. The study shows how these important ecological ... read more

Research Connects Dots Among Ocean Dynamics, Drought and Forests

Mar. 11, 2019 — A new study has found predictable, traceable connections between changes in how the Atlantic Ocean flowed and operated with centuries-long droughts and changes in forest ... read more

Fatal Horizon, Driven by Acidification, Closes in on Marine Organisms in Southern Ocean

Mar. 11, 2019 — Marine microorganisms in the Southern Ocean may find themselves in a deadly vise grip by century's end as ocean acidification creates a shallower horizon for ... read more

Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Friday, March 1, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com