advertisement
Earth Science News
February 20, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 5:55am EST

More Earth Science News
February 20, 2019

Indecision Under Pressure

Feb. 19, 2019 — When compressed, a material typically becomes a better conductor of heat. Not so for the unusual material cubic boron arsenide, which when under pressure shows its conductivity first improves and ... read more

Fishing and Pollution Regulations Don't Help Corals Cope With Climate Change

Feb. 19, 2019 — A new study reports that protecting coral reefs from fishing and pollution does not help coral populations cope with climate change. The study also concludes that ocean warming is the primary cause ... read more

Indonesia's Devastating 2018 Earthquake Was a Rare Supershear, UCLA Study Finds

Feb. 12, 2019 — The devastating 7.5 magnitude earthquake that struck the Indonesian island of Sulawesi last September was a rare 'supershear' earthquake, according to a study led by UCLA researchers. Only ... read more

Feb. 12, 2019 — The Earth's magnetic shield booms like a drum when it is hit by strong impulses, according to new ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — Scientists surveyed deep-sea seamounts outside Isla del Coco UNESCO World Heritage site revealing coral communities with surprising ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — A new study on ice cores shows that reductions in sea ice in the Arctic in the period between 30-100,000 years ago led to major climate events. During this period, Greenland temperatures rose by as ... read more

Re-Establishing Oyster Beds to Maximize Their Ecological Benefits

Feb. 11, 2019 — Researchers have developed a mapping tool that identifies sites for re-establishing oyster reefs that maximize their ecological benefits -- such as water filtration. This Geographic Information ... read more

Many Arctic Lakes Give Off Less Carbon Than Expected

Feb. 11, 2019 — New research suggests many lakes in the Arctic pose little threat to global carbon levels, at least for ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — As climate change melts Greenland's glaciers and deposits more river sediment on its shores, an international group of researchers has identified one unforeseen economic opportunity for the ... read more

Marine Scientists Find Toxic Bacteria on Microplastics Retrieved from Tropical Waters

Feb. 11, 2019 — A team of marine scientists had uncovered toxic bacteria living on the surfaces of microplastics (which are pieces of plastic smaller than 5 millimeters in size) collected from the coastal areas of ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — Humans have a ''disproportionately huge effect'' on the other species of vertebrates that share Earth's surface with us, causing more than 25 percent of the deaths among an ... read more

Climate Change May Destroy Tiger's Home

Feb. 11, 2019 — A scientist says the last coastal stronghold of an iconic predator, the endangered Bengal tiger, could be destroyed by climate change and rising sea levels over the next 50 ... read more

Seasons Change: Researchers Provide New Definition for Major Indian Monsoon Season

Feb. 8, 2019 — Researchers have used detailed surface temperature analyses to develop the first-ever objective definition of the Northeast Indian ... read more

Researchers Help Define Southern Ocean's Geological Features

Feb. 8, 2019 — Scientists present data from the region that show the Australian-Antarctic Ridge has isotopic compositions distinct from both the Pacific and Indian mantle ... read more

Think Big, at Least When It Comes to Global Conservation

Feb. 8, 2019 — According to a group of international researchers, the potential for large countries to contribute to environmental protection is being overlooked. The researchers recently examined the leverage an ... read more

Feb. 8, 2019 — A team of scientists has visualized meteorite components at resolution powers much higher than ever before. Their efforts resulted in a much better look at -- and enhanced understanding of -- ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — A massive release of passive-surveillance satellite data of nighttime lights could help researchers in fields ranging from agriculture to ... read more

A Better Way to Make Plastics out of Sulfur

Feb. 7, 2019 — Scientists have discovered a new process to make polymers out of sulfur which could provide a way of making plastic that is less harmful to the ... read more

Landslides Triggered by Hurricane Maria

Feb. 7, 2019 — Hurricane Maria hit the island of Puerto Rico on 20 September 2017 and triggered more than 40,000 landslides in at least three-fourths of Puerto Rico's 78 municipalities. Researchers write that ... read more

Feb. 7, 2019 — A new study has revealed how a group of deep-sea microbes provides clues to the evolution of life on Earth. Researchers used cutting-edge molecular methods to study these microbes, which thrive in ... read more

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Sunday, January 27, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Friday, January 4, 2019

http://www.vxiaotou.com