advertisement
Coral Reefs News
March 26, 2019

Latest Headlines
updated 6:27am EDT

More Coral Reefs News
March 26, 2019

Fishing and Pollution Regulations Don't Help Corals Cope With Climate Change

Feb. 19, 2019 — A new study reports that protecting coral reefs from fishing and pollution does not help coral populations cope with climate change. The study also concludes that ocean warming is the primary cause ... read more

Feb. 11, 2019 — Scientists surveyed deep-sea seamounts outside Isla del Coco UNESCO World Heritage site revealing coral communities with surprising ... read more

Marine Scientists Find Toxic Bacteria on Microplastics Retrieved from Tropical Waters

Feb. 11, 2019 — A team of marine scientists had uncovered toxic bacteria living on the surfaces of microplastics (which are pieces of plastic smaller than 5 millimeters in size) collected from the coastal areas of ... read more

Feb. 6, 2019 — Corals lurking in deeper, darker waters could one day help to replenish shallow water reefs under threat from ocean warming and bleaching events, according to researchers. They examined corals from ... read more

Underwater Forests Threatened by Future Climate Change, New Study Finds

Feb. 6, 2019 — Climate change could lead to declines of underwater kelp forests through impacts on their microbiome. New research has found predicted ocean warming and acidification can change microbes on the kelp ... read more

Jan. 31, 2019 — Climate change is bad news for coral reefs around the world, with high ocean temperatures causing widespread bleaching events that weaken and kill corals. However, new research has found that corals ... read more

Jan. 22, 2019 — Corals know how to attract good company. New research finds that corals emit an enticing fluorescent green light that attracts the mobile microalgae, known as Symbiodinium, that are critical to the ... read more

Jan. 16, 2019 — Researchers have succeeded in directly measuring three key parameters necessary for skeleton formation in a live tropical coral. This way, they completely characterized the carbonate chemistry at the ... read more

Jan. 10, 2019 — Fish become anxious and more cautious when water quality is degraded by sediment, an effect that could stunt their growth and damage their ... read more

Dec. 12, 2018 — A new study is starting to unravel that mystery. Researchers found that the soundscape of a reef -- the combined sounds of all animals living nearby -- might play a major role in steering corals ... read more

Dec. 6, 2018 — How much of a reef's ability to withstand stressful conditions is influenced by the type of symbiotic algae that the corals hosts? New work investigates how the nutrients algae share with their ... read more

Dec. 5, 2018 — Scientists have solved the mystery of why some closely-related species of an iconic reef fish have vastly different colour patterns, while others look very ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — A new study helping to improve how sustainability is measured for popular reef fish could help better assess the eco-friendly seafood options at the dinner ... read more

Nov. 30, 2018 — Researchers took a virtual reality experience into a variety of educational settings, including high school classrooms, to test the impact on awareness and understanding of ocean ... read more

Thriving Reef Fisheries Continue to Provide Food Despite Coral Bleaching

Nov. 29, 2018 — The unexpected results of a 20-year study into reef fisheries showed fisheries being maintained despite extreme coral bleaching. Remarkably, rapid proliferation of fishes with low dependence on ... read more

Nov. 27, 2018 — In a comprehensive study of healthy corals, scientists report that coral bacteria are a surprisingly diverse bunch -- and that different sections of the coral body can host unique communities of ... read more

Corals and Their Microbiomes Evolved Together, New Research Shows

Nov. 23, 2018 — Corals and the microbes they host evolved together, new research shows, adding fresh insight to the fight to save the Earth's embattled coral ... read more

Nov. 13, 2018 — Rising global sea levels may actually be beneficial to the long-term future of coral reef islands, such as the Maldives, according to new research. Low-lying coral reef islands are typically less ... read more

Nov. 8, 2018 — A new study has uncovered the history of bleaching on a reef in the epicenter of El Nino, revealing how some corals have been able to return after facing extreme ... read more

Nov. 6, 2018 — In a new article, researchers are calling for a rethink on tropical marine conservation efforts, as people who previously relied on coral reefs for food and income are increasingly looking to ... read more

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Monday, August 27, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Monday, June 18, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Wednesday, May 2, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Monday, April 30, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Friday, March 16, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Monday, January 22, 2018
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Wednesday, December 27, 2017

http://www.vxiaotou.com